Legal Affairs Books 1 -6 by Sawyer Bennett

LEGAL AFFAIRS.jpg

I just finished another serial novel with the same premise that’s why jumping onto this six part series felt very familiar to me. But of course, I was also waiting for that oomph factor that will set this story apart but unfortunately, it just didn’t come.

I read the six short serials consecutively and didn’t have the chance to jot down my thoughts per story so this will be for the whole set instead.

Our heroine McKayla or Mac is an all around modern woman. I love how she is driven, motivated and career oriented. On the other hand, our hero Matt kind of reminds me of a worse Harvey Specter from Suits. He’s equally amazing in the courtroom, commitment averse and success driven. What sets Matt apart though is that compared to other boss-employee relationships I’ve read, I liked how he cares for his employees (except for the latter part of the story) and treats them fairly and with respect.

Legal Affairs.jpg

I particularly enjoyed the ending given that Mac was still given the freedom and independence when it comes to her career but I felt like there was a lot of stuff that’s happening over and over. On the other hand, I always have a soft spot for brainy males that’s why I liked Matt instantly and though there were times when I felt that Mac was too soft and too submissive, there were still parts of her personality that I liked.  

There’s a whole lot of sex, like A LOT, LOT, LOT, LOT and I found myself skimming through those parts as they tend to become repetitive. There was also drama and a backstory thrown in which I think is good since it added flavor and made the story more interesting to me. I found the story getting better and better with each book and while I feel like this could have just been released as one book – it was still an enjoyable read for me.

Writing wise, I’ve only read the Sugar Bowl series from Bennett before and she whips dirty talk and humor flawlessly. Her writing is engaging and is a huge factor on why I persisted finishing all six books.And as much as I enjoyed it, I’m not sure if I’ll be reading the spin offs or the Litigation God follow up anytime soon.  

This is a fast paced enjoyable read, not so much if you’re looking for something more original but more on if you want some law related, office, boss-employee romance with a whole lot of drama and a whole lot of steam.

Stars - 3

 

2 thoughts on “Legal Affairs Books 1 -6 by Sawyer Bennett

  1. Apart from the Sugar Bowl series and the third book in the series was quite a letdown, I haven’t really enjoyed a book by Sawyer Bennett ever since and they are just mediocre to me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aww, I liked that series but Sela was plain annoying. From Book 1 to Book 3, she drove me nuts continuously. I read Legal Affairs since it has been on my Kindle for a long time but I’ve just read another with the same premise that’s why it felt meh to me. It was enjoyable but not new. I assume you won’t be reading any books from her anytime soon?

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

