Flat-Out Love by Jessica Park

FLAT OUT LOVE

“It was always you. I thought it was someone else, but it was you. You were the person that I felt.”

flat out love

I guess I spoke too soon when I admired Jessica Park’s ability to create deep and interesting characters after reading 180 seconds because Flat Out Love is AMAZING! I was planning to continue exploring new to me authors but after 180 seconds, I knew I have to read more from her.

This book is really interesting. I felt invested to everyone in the story. I felt the heart poured out in creating the characters and in turn, they seemed very real to me. I love how quirky and unique the characters are. They are all different from one another and each one carrying a burden. They are flawed but their imperfections radiate realness. The characters came alive from the author’s colorful, witty and fun narration. We saw depth, we saw hurt, we saw humanity.

I actually thought that it was going to be a fluffy read but I was surprised by how deep and emotional the story turned. I appreciated how the author felt comfortable shifting between emotions and playing with just the right amount of drama and fun.

Nerds/geeks do not usually get to be the lead in the story but this one has a lot of brain power and intellectual tension which I truly, truly enjoyed. It’s refreshing how this story revolved around problematic personalities and their day to day lives. And though I saw the twist a mile away, it was still enjoyable getting from Point A to Point B. It was an immensely engaging read and I found bits and pieces of myself in the flaws of the characters – from Julie, Matt, Finn, Celeste and even Erin. They are dysfunctional that they become relatable. But they are so well written that families like them can actually exist.

I could go on and on about how good this book is but you just have to experience the characters to know what I’m talking about. Beyond the plot, beyond the twist, it’s the characters that won me.

Also, watch out for the drunken phone call!

Oh and my favorite character in this story: Celeste.

Stars - 4


Review Headings -  Blurb

Flat-Out Love is a warm and witty novel of family love and dysfunction, deep heartache and raw vulnerability, with a bit of mystery and one whopping, knock-you-to-your-knees romance.

It’s not what you know—or when you see—that matters. It’s about a journey.

Something is seriously off in the Watkins home. And Julie Seagle, college freshman, small-town Ohio transplant, and the newest resident of this Boston house, is determined to get to the bottom of it. When Julie’s off-campus housing falls through, her mother’s old college roommate, Erin Watkins, invites her to move in. The parents, Erin and Roger, are welcoming, but emotionally distant and academically driven to eccentric extremes. The middle child, Matt, is an MIT tech geek with a sweet side… and the social skills of a spool of USB cable. The youngest, Celeste, is a frighteningly bright but freakishly fastidious 13-year-old who hauls around a life-sized cardboard cutout of her oldest brother almost everywhere she goes.

And there’s that oldest brother, Finn: funny, gorgeous, smart, sensitive, almost emotionally available. Geographically? Definitely unavailable. That’s because Finn is traveling the world and surfacing only for random Facebook chats, e-mails, and status updates. Before long, through late-night exchanges of disembodied text, he begins to stir something tender and silly and maybe even a little bit sexy in Julie’s suddenly lonesome soul.

To Julie, the emotionally scrambled members of the Watkins family add up to something that … well… doesn’t quite add up. Not until she forces a buried secret to the surface, eliciting a dramatic confrontation that threatens to tear the fragile Watkins family apart, does she get her answer.

3 thoughts on “Flat-Out Love by Jessica Park

    • Hi!!! I truly loved Celeste and finished her book too. Her book made me love her even more and I’m just sooo happy with the progress she has made. She’s definitely one of the most unique characters I have read 🙂 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: JUNE || Reading Wrap Up | Heart Via Pages

Leave a Reply

