Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

Crown of Midnight.jpg

“The rest of the world quieted into nothing. In that moment, after ten long years, Celaena looked at Chaol and realised she was home.”

crown of midnight

Throne of Glass ended spectacularly that I just cannot resist diving into the second book immediately. I was intrigued, I was supremely curious. What happens to Celaena now? What happens to my ship? *wink wink*

Crown of Midnight offers a multitude of events that I just cannot find the right words to describe the awesomeness packed in this story. I did not linger on a single emotion because I found myself on highs and lows. It’s too early to tell but this can be my favorite among the series. (But that’s still open for re-negotiation. AS OF WRITING, I JUST FINISHED Qos AND CoM STILL REMAINS TO BE MY FAVORITE)

In terms of character development, I am glad that I was able to see a softer (if you could call it that) side to the bratty and hard headed assassin. I felt her opening up slowly, shedding layers of her solid core. I felt like I enjoyed this version of Celaena better that the one in TOG. The hyped up assassin I was looking for is here! After this book, everything made sense! I understood the entitlement, why she can be bratty and arrogant and stubborn. It all made perfect sense.

On the other hand, I couldn’t be happier for my ship. Love triangle, you said???? I’m sorry but my ship seems winning on this one although I have to admit that Dorian was a big surprise in this book. Initially, he felt like an obstacle to me but eventually, I enjoyed how he is being shaped as his own character and being made to fully stand on his own. 

It’s not just Dorian alone but all the other characters we get to know more of are ever changing and growing. I feel like we are slowly being made to see just how HUGE this series can be with all the plot twists, all the backstories, all the complex, multilayered characters we encountered.

Crown of Midnight is emotional as it is shocking, it’s twisted as it is satisfying.

I just don’t know if I can find the appropriate words for this book. Seriously, it feels like this made up for all the small flaws in Throne of Glass. I feel like Maas gave us a taste of what she can offer with Throne of Glass then gave us the main, delicious course in Crown of Midnight. This book had me on edge since I cannot imagine how it would end. With all the complexities, all the turns and twists and the madness and chaos – I did not dare hope for a positive ending.

BUT THAT ENDING POSITIVELY SHOOK ME! That was an ending I did not see coming. 

5 STARS!

Stars - 5


Review Headings - BlurbFrom the throne of glass rules a king with a fist of iron and a soul as black as pitch. Assassin Celaena Sardothien won a brutal contest to become his Champion. Yet Celaena is far from loyal to the crown. She hides her secret vigilantly; she knows that the man she serves is bent on evil.

Keeping up the deadly charade becomes increasingly difficult when Celaena realizes she is not the only one seeking justice. As she tries to untangle the mysteries buried deep within the glass castle, her closest relationships suffer. It seems no one is above questioning her allegiances—not the Crown Prince Dorian; not Chaol, the Captain of the Guard; not even her best friend, Nehemia, a foreign princess with a rebel heart.

Then one terrible night, the secrets they have all been keeping lead to an unspeakable tragedy. As Celaena’s world shatters, she will be forced to give up the very thing most precious to her and decide once and for all where her true loyalties lie… and whom she is ultimately willing to fight for.

Leave a Reply

