Behind Closed Doors by B.A. Paris

BEHIND CLOSED DOORS.jpg

“When I look at him I feel dismayed as I always do at how normal he looks, because surely there should be something–pointed ears or a pair of horns–to warn people of his evilness.”

Behind Closed Doors

Oh man, I feel bad for George Clooney……

So let’s talk about BA Paris’ debut work which became a nominee for Goodreads Choice Award (Mystery & Thriller) and for Debut Goodreads Author (2016).

Despite the cluttered parts, despite the repetitive feel, despite the flaws —-  I CAN’T SEEM TO PUT THIS DOWN. It’s that addicting!

True enough, I felt a bit let down that things were already out in the open early on but I just can’t seem to stop reading. There is an excitement and curiosity as you go along and though the villain is revealed very early in the story *surprise surprise*, I still can’t wait to get to the action. (Actually, all you blurb readers out there must have figured it out even before opening the book but since I went in blind, I had no idea. Danggggggg)

What I didn’t enjoy much about this book is the way it was executed. The narrative felt disorderly and messy leading to confusion at some point. It shifts from past and present times which was unnecessary in the way the story was told. Perhaps the author felt that that kind of execution added to the buildup but to me, it only added to more confusion. There are storylines wherein a past-present POV shifting is favourable but it just didn’t work for this plot. The way she did it just gave me a headache on top of the anxiety I was already feeling.

On the other hand, what I liked about this book is that it made me feel terrified and wary of human behaviour. When a book, despite its flaws and limitations can make me feel scared, hateful, hopeful and agonized then congratulations, you got me.

There is tension and buildup and there were times when I was on the edge of my seat. The suspense in this story is NOT finding out who the villain is but in escaping the villain which was really, REALLY hard. And despite my love-hate relationship with how this book was written, I have to say that the ending totally made up for it. 

I just wish that the trend to tag books as the next this or the next that be stopped. It’s actually setting high expectations and making this current book just another recycled story. And it’s sad when that happens. It’s stripping down a book’s individuality way before a reader has even opened it. Or maybe it’s a marketing ploy.

It’s not the most spectacular read but would you look at that – I really enjoyed it.

3.5 STARS

Stars - 4


Review Headings - Blurb

Everyone knows a couple like Jack and Grace: he has looks and wealth, she has charm and elegance. You’d like to get to know Grace better. But it’s difficult, because you realize Jack and Grace are never apart. Some might call this true love.

Picture this: a dinner party at their perfect home, the conversation and wine flowing. They appear to be in their element while entertaining. And Grace’s friends are eager to reciprocate with lunch the following week. Grace wants to go, but knows she never will. Her friends call—so why doesn’t Grace ever answer the phone? And how can she cook such elaborate meals but remain so slim?

And why are there bars on one of the bedroom windows?

The perfect marriage? Or the perfect lie?

4 thoughts on “Behind Closed Doors by B.A. Paris

  1. I completely agree with this review. It was an okay read up until the end and then POW! it hits you. It seems to me as if the pace of the ending was very quick but the buildup a little too slow. Overall, I enjoyed it but I did tend to get bored during flashbacks that had already been explained in the book. Great post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This book made me so mad! Well, not the book really but the character of Jack! I knew he was too good to be true! I loved this book and the end-Tell me Grace-what color was Millie’s room? Wow- but man it gave me the willy jilly’s!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

