Royally Screwed by Emma Chase

“Infamy is temporary, celebrity is fleeting, but royalty…royalty is forever.”

Royally Screwed.jpg

Let it be put on record that Drew Evans is and still remains to be my undefeated favorite Emma Chase bae. If you’re asking why, clearly, you haven’t read the Tangled series yet and I am imploring you to do so. Again,let me repeat, Drew Evans remains undefeated!!! UNDEFEATED!!

Prince Nicholas may have failed to steal the top Emma Chase book boyfriend crown from Drew but this book still wins in more ways than one.

Both characters, Nicholas and Olivia are likeable enough. Nicholas’ playful nature totally contradicts his princely demeanor. There’s a balance between seeing him on his boyfriend element and on his role and duty. On the other hand, Olivia is a freaking fighter. She does what she wants, she doesn’t second guess herself and she’s not afraid to risk it. Again, like I said, likeable.

However, Nicholas and Olivia’s characters are not new. Feisty female + Cocky male. Yeah, I’ve read about the likes of these two. But I was still entertained because the plot has very minimal drama. Other books go on and on about repetitive dilemma but what I enjoy about this pair is that they talk. They actually communicate. In a story with steamy sex scenes, I find it refreshing that Nicholas and Olivia also talk and discuss. There’s a connection that’s not just sexual and I like it. I really appreciate it. 

As for the other characters, I just wish I can see more of them in the future books. I know that Royally Matched will be about Prince Henry (so I guess I won’t be missing him too much) but I would also love to see and know more about Franny (yes Ugly Bitch!!), Ellie and even the bodyguards. I mentioned it before but I would also like to point it out here that it’s always good to have main characters who are dynamic and engaging. But it is equally important to build up secondary characters with depth and meaning, not just haphazardly thrown into the story to complete the cast. And Chase nailed just that!

There were parts when I was feeling meh but got easily pulled back in because of the banter and humor. This story is cute and fun. It was a steady read but I think it was in the last few chapters when I started feeling a teeny tiny bit emotional. Though I know it’s fiction, there was something about the resolution that was honest to goodness too good to be true. And also, the main characters have been fretting  about THAT problem since the beginning then here comes a solution – why havent they thought of that before? Alright, I understand that it was a big something that was given up. But still, it was not like his whole life will change. It’s the one big conflict in the story and initially, it was presented like there’s no solution at all except to accept that it was the way it’s supposed to be. Then all of a sudden, bammm, here’s a solution for y’all. Convenient eh?

And also, do I still need to talk about the writing? Ladies and gents, it’s Emma Chase! The writing is flawless and fun and full of snark and wit. She writes with precision and her dual POV is sharp as always. She has once again delivered a fun yet lovable story of a cocky bad boy and a strong heroine.

What kept me glued to the story is the superb Chase writing. I don’t think I could ever get tired of reading her because her writing style just flows. However, the reason I cannot give any more stars is because of the abundance of cheesiness, predictability and lack of wow factor in terms of overall plot. 

It wasn’t actually bad. But it was just okay. If you want something fun and light to read? Prince Nicholas is in the waiting room

Stars - 3

Review Headings -  Blurb

Nicholas Arthur Frederick Edward Pembrook, Crowned Prince of Wessco, aka His Royal Hotness, is wickedly charming, devastatingly handsome, and unabashedly arrogant; hard not to be when people are constantly bowing down to you.

Then, one snowy night in Manhattan, the prince meets a dark haired beauty who doesn’t bow down. Instead, she throws a pie in his face.

Nicholas wants to find out if she tastes as good as her pie, and this heir apparent is used to getting what he wants.

Dating a prince isn’t what waitress Olivia Hammond ever imagined it would be.

There’s a disapproving queen, a wildly inappropriate spare heir, relentless paparazzi, and brutal public scrutiny. While they’ve traded in horse drawn carriages for Rolls Royces, and haven’t chopped anyone’s head off lately, the royals are far from accepting of this commoner.

But to Olivia, Nicholas is worth it.

Nicholas grew up with the whole world watching, and now Marriage Watch is in full force. In the end, Nicholas has to decide who he is and, more importantly, who he wants to be: a King… or the man who gets to love Olivia forever.

 

4 thoughts on “Royally Screwed by Emma Chase

Leave a Reply

