The Air He Breathes by Brittainy C. Cherry

“No soulmate leaves the world alone; they always take a piece of their other half along with them.”

The Air He Breathes.jpg

I’m just feeling a bit salty as to why no one has shoved this down my throat before. I keep seeing so many positive reviews for The Silent Waters and it triggered me to look this author up and just get the Elements series. I dove into this blind and wow, this woman can write!

Emotionally, she was able to push all the right buttons. There is so much truth in this story, so much power and realness. I felt a strong pull towards the main characters IMMEDIATELY. As much as I don’t like instalove, that’s exactly how I felt with them.

The two main characters, Tristan and Elizabeth, are two broken souls. Devastated by tragedy, they both chose their own ways to cope. My heart goes out to both of them. This book is a twist after another after another.

The book is mostly in Elizabeth’s voice and I find myself craving to see more of Tristan’s thoughts. I will not rehash the story or the plot but this story is just powerful and addicting to read. You would not want to put it down. I was moved by the changes in Tristan’s persona – how he went from a doting husband and father to a complete antisocial, shutting himself from everyone. Everything he did was with purpose. Some may not understand his actions or how he chose to cope but that is the beauty if this story, it rings true. Each one of us may know a Tristan in real life. This teaches us not to judge prematurely and to have a more accepting heart towards people who choose to be different.

Elizabeth, on the other hand is a beautiful and resilient character. She does not see it often, but she is strong. She’s one of those main characters that you would wish exist in real life just to pick a few life pointers from them.

This book is a quick read but the way it was written is beautiful. It has heart and soul and you will just feel. It’s one of those books that will take you along the story and be one with the characters. If you’re ready to be consumed and to hurt (a bit), go read this story NOW!

Stars - 5

FACEBOOK | TWITTER | INSTAGRAM | GOODREADS

Review Headings -  Blurb

I was warned about Tristan Cole.

“Stay away from him,” people said.
“He’s cruel.”
“He’s cold.”
“He’s damaged.”

It’s easy to judge a man because of his past. To look at Tristan and see a monster.

But I couldn’t do that. I had to accept the wreckage that lived inside of him because it also lived inside of me.

We were both empty.
We were both looking for something else. Something more.
We both wanted to put together the shattered pieces of our yesterdays.

Then perhaps we could finally remember how to breathe.

 

10 thoughts on “The Air He Breathes by Brittainy C. Cherry

Leave a Reply

