Retrieval by Aly Martinez

“Something had broken between us. But, in the process, something had also been repaired.”

Retrieval.jpg 

This is my first read from Aly Martinez and I have heard many good things left and right that I decided to see for myself.

And true enough, the reviews were not lying. The story opened on a very heavy, very emotional prologue. I was immediately arrested by the intensity of the emotions reeking from the first few pages alone. I cannot tear myself away because this is not your usual NA of two people finding love. Nope. These two main characters already found love. And lost it. But what they didn’t know is that a train of events will allow them to retrieve what was lost.

There are actually two main points in the story, the marriage and the subplot, the subplot being a vital part in the repair of the marriage. I loved it. I devoured it. It’s a depiction of the marriage that deviates from the beautiful, flawless pictures of what marriage looks like. It shows the rawness and realness of a relationship. It shows that it takes REAL hard work, dedication and communication on top of love and loyalty. Roman and Lis loved each other. Hell, it was a perfect love. But during that time, it was NOT strong enough.

I found Aly’s writing to be concise and direct, amazed how she was able to showcase Lis and Roman’s characters passionately while injecting fun, humor and wit on an otherwise serious mood and plot. This is my first read from her and already found myself hunting her past works and looking forward to this one’s sequel. I loved everything about this story but felt like the ending came to soon, too abruptly and just left me hanging there. Needless to say, I need more. 

Stars - 4

FACEBOOK | TWITTER | INSTAGRAM | GOODREADS

Review Headings -  Blurb

One story. Two couples.

I proposed on our first date.
She laughed and told me I was insane. Less than a day later, she said yes.
It was a whirlwind, but we were happy…
Until we got greedy and wanted a family.

It was a life I couldn’t give her, not for lack of trying. Fertility just wasn’t on our side. We sought out doctors and treatments. Spent money we didn’t have. Lied to our families. Smiled for our friends. Put on a brave face for a world that didn’t understand.
Finally, we were successful…
Until we were forced to bury our son.

We were left broken, battered, and destroyed.
They say love is in the details, but it was the details that ruined us.

This is the story of how I took back what had always been mine.
The retrieval of my wife and our family.

 

Leave a Reply

