Defy by L.J. Shen

defy

**ARC REVIEW

I haven’t read a lot of student-teacher romance stories but if all of them would be this good, sign me up then.

SERIOUSLY SHEN?!!!!

This is smut. This is a novella.
But somehow, Shen managed to pack this with so, so much!
True enough, there was not much room for character development but the intensity and power packed in such number of pages blew me away.

Jaime’s character commands attention and half the time, I keep forgetting that he’s still in high school. Melody on the other hand, whom I kind of prejudged as flirty and provocative (based on the premise) thoroughly surprised me. She has depth and conviction. I just wish I could get to know these two characters more – take a deeper peek at their histories, learn more about their personalities, see more into their future. (Leigh, I hope you’re reading this!!)

The storytelling is direct. The writing is flawless as always – fun mixed with sass and a whole lot of humor. This woman hasn’t written anything I haven’t enjoyed yet and the best part is – she just keeps on getting better.

Now that Vicious introduction is one big tease! Give him to us already will you??

trish - signature
 
 

 

 

Review Headings -  Blurb

Defy is a smutty, insta-love, insta-lust short novella. A part of the Hot for Teacher anthology, Defy is also a prequel to Vicious (Sinners of Saint #1). It is recommended, but unnecessary, to read Defy before reading Vicious.

My name is Melody Greene, and I have a confession to make.
I slept with my student, a senior in high school.
Multiple times.
I had multiple orgasms.
In multiple positions.
I slept with my student and I enjoyed it.
I slept with my student and I’d do it all over again if I could turn back time.
My name is Melody Greene, and I got kicked out of my position as a teacher and did my walk of shame a la Cersei Lannister from the principal’s office, minutes after said principal threatened to call the cops on me.
My name is Melody Greene, and I did something bad because it made me feel good.
Here is why it was totally worth it.


FOLLOW  L.J. SHEN ON HER OFFICIAL WEBSITE

LJ Shen

L.J. Shen is a best-selling author of Contemporary Romance and New Adult novels. She lives in Northern California with her husband, young son and chubby cat.

Before she’d settled down, L.J. (who thinks referring to herself in the third person is really silly, by the way) traveled all over the world, and collected friends from all across the globe. Friends who’d be happy to report that she is a rubbish companion, always forgets peoples’ birthdays and never sends Christmas cards.

She enjoys the simple things in life, like chocolate, wine, reading, HBO, spending time with her girlfriends and internet-stalking Chris Hemsworth. She reads between three to five books a week and firmly believes Crocs shoes and mullets should be outlawed.

STALK AWAY!

FACEBOOK | TWITTER | INSTAGRAM

GOODREADS

2 thoughts on “Defy by L.J. Shen

  1. Pingback: The Wine Book Tag – How Useful It Is

Leave a Reply

