This is Love, Baby (War & Peace #2) by K. Webster

“I am not a weak pawn. I am the queen.”

ThisisLove

I am at a complete loss of how I feel about this book.

I couldn’t wait any longer to find out what happens next so I dove into this second book craving more, wanting more and basically crossing my fingers for karmic retribution to just work its magic. I need that closure, I want my vengeance. I need my characters to find happiness and some semblance of peace.

However, this story took a nasty twist. A dark, unexpected, mindfuck of a twist.

I originally just wanted to obliterate one villain. I just wanted him and his crazy ass to disappear and never return. But I was shocked when Book 2 gave us not one but TWO (YES TWO!!!!!) crazy psychos on the loose. I could just bang my head for what I was originally enjoying as a dark romantic suspense took a turn towards goddamn unbelievable.

Here’s the thing, I always enjoy and applaud good writing and Webster’s writing style is beautiful and will just suck you in. Believe me, I was hooked. But this second book was just too much – that it became a bit hard for me to emotionally invest on the characters.  True, Baylee will still be a badass heroine in my book and yes, Warren will be truly special in more ways than one – but, but, but this second book just wasn’t what I was expecting.

I was looking forward to more of Warren, to see his character shine more and be the survivor that he is — to see more of his love, compassion as well as his struggles. He was a powerful character in the first book and I was expecting more of him, more from him.

What we did get though was more of Gabe and the transformation of a minor character from Book 1 into another villain. It’s like a battle of who’s more perverted and insane. It’s twisted how these characters became truly sick in the head.

What I appreciate though is that this book finally gave us some much needed answers – though we might have had a clue already, it’s good how we were given closure to the questions that plagued us on the first book. What happened to Baylee’s parents? What happened to the money? How is Warren?

It was towards the end that I was finally starting to taste my victory. Finally, I was truly enjoying the book. I wanted to hug these two characters who has been through hell and back. I told myself that demons can truly be extinguished.

And then that ending.

I won’t spoil it for you but let me just say that my angst just skyrocketed once more.

This is Love, baby.

I hated it. I loved it.

Maybe I’m also sick in the head.

Stars - 3

Review Headings -  Blurb

My War was over and I had lost. My captor reminded me I was nothing more than his pawn.
His strategy never changed…it was always me.

But what he didn’t know was that LOVE always wins.

In my War, I’d found not only peace
but LOVE as well.

I’d been through a battlefield with my War and LOVE was what brought us to the other side.
Our LOVE was beautiful and pure. Undying.

My captor thinks he has won this war. That I will LOVE him.
What he doesn’t know is this time, I’m the one with a strategy. I’m always thinking several moves ahead of him, my War taught me that.

I will outsmart him and find peace again.
This is a war I will win.
My LOVE will conquer all.

Warning:
This is Love, Baby is a dark romance. Strong sexual themes and violence which could trigger emotional distress are found in this story. Terrible, terrible things happen to our poor heroine, so you’ve been properly warned. This story is NOT for everyone.


FOLLOW K. WEBSTER ON HER OFFICIAL WEBSITE

k-webster2

K Webster is the author of dozens of romance books in many different genres including contemporary romance, historical romance, paranormal romance, and erotic romance. When not spending time with her husband of twelve years and two adorable children, she’s active on social media connecting with her readers.

Her other passions besides writing include reading and graphic design. K can always be found in front of her computer chasing her next idea and taking action. She looks forward to the day when she will see one of her titles on the big screen.

STALK AWAY!!

FACEBOOK | TWITTER | INSTAGRAM

THIS IS LOVE, BABY on GOODREADS

THIS IS LOVE, BABY on AMAZON

Leave a Reply

