This is War, Baby (War & Peace #1) by K. Webster

“I was tainted.
With her blood.
Their blood.
And the disease of my despair.
There was no cleansing something so tainted.
This was who I was now.
This was War.”

ThisisWar

If your mind is closed off and won’t be accepting to the crazy darkness of this story, then please do not even attempt to read this. This is definitely not for the faint hearted.

I picked this up after seeing reviews from L.J. Shen and her excitement just rubbed off on me. I haven’t read anything from K. Webster before and if you know me, I am always on the lookout for new-to-me authors. Especially awesome indies.

Oh dear God! This book is INSANE! I HAVE NO WORDS EXCEPT THAT THIS IS PURE, UNDILUTED CRAZINESS!

The first few chapters were undeniably filthy that I found myself having a hard time trying to stomach what I was reading but I pushed through because the storyline made me curious. I was nosey as hell and I wanted to know WHAT IN THE WORLD is going on.

The main character, Baylee Marie Winston was only seventeen when her life took a nasty twist. She was living the normal teenage high school life except for an ailing mother. She was the picture of a happy teenager – studies, sports, family and a relationship. But she was abducted and taken from her comfort zone and thrown into a dark, sinister world that is full of things that she has never imagined herself to be involved in.

I lost track of the number of times I cursed, screamed and almost threw my Kindle away (of course that last one is not true.LOL). I have to commend the author for delivering such a powerful and gut twisting read. There were times when it was too uncomfortable to continue but you would still do so. There were parts where I wanted to just skim but I wanted to share the character/s’ pain so I still read on. You can feel the tension, the anger, the need to escape, the desire, the confusion – all of these through the words and voices of our characters’ POVs. Yes, this one is told in the POVs of Baylee, Gabe and Warren.

When she said that it was dark, man, it was REALLY DARK. It is highly intriguing but prepare your mind to be assaulted by some vivid, unpretty images. Buckle up!

This book is not just erotica – there’s a lot more to it. It’s actually brimming with mystery and suspense, violence and angst. This is your twisted romance. Yes, there’s romance but it’s a far cry from the usual one. If you are in the mood to read something that’s raw and rough and rebellious. This is WAR, baby – it’s waiting for you.

Stars - 5

Review Headings -  Blurb

My life had a plan. Until he invaded it and stole it all away. My captor took me and I became a pawn.

His strategy changed and he sent me away to WAR, because money is everything in this world.

In my WAR, though, I found peace.

I couldn’t help but find love where I least expected it, with a man who lived a battle every day of his life
…all inside his head.

But then my captor came back for me.
Yet, this time, battle lines had been drawn and I was protected.

So we thought.
Even though my WAR was raging,
my captor would fight to the death.

The good guys always win, right?
Not always.

All’s fair in love and WAR, right?
Not this time.

***WARNING***
This is War, Baby is a dark romance. A really dark one. So dark you’re going to wish you had a flashlight to see yourself to the end and someone to hold your hand. Human trafficking, dubious consent, and strong sexual themes that could trigger emotional distress are found in this story. This story is NOT for everyone.

FOLLOW K. WEBSTER ON HER OFFICIAL WEBSITE

k-webster2

K Webster is the author of dozens of romance books in many different genres including contemporary romance, historical romance, paranormal romance, and erotic romance. When not spending time with her husband of twelve years and two adorable children, she’s active on social media connecting with her readers.

Her other passions besides writing include reading and graphic design. K can always be found in front of her computer chasing her next idea and taking action. She looks forward to the day when she will see one of her titles on the big screen.

STALK AWAY!!

FACEBOOK | TWITTER | INSTAGRAM

THIS IS WAR, BABY on GOODREADS

THIS IS WAR, BABY on AMAZON

13 thoughts on “This is War, Baby (War & Peace #1) by K. Webster

  1. I just finished reading the third book This Isn’t Over, Baby. And I’m so disappointed. I was excited and got it quickly, but it was just too much for me. Great review, would you be reading the other books?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

