Veiled by Karina Halle

“The past doesn’t define us. It’s what we do here and now, today, that does. This world was built on second chances.”

Veiled2

It actually took me quite a long time to finish this book and not because it didn’t pull my interest but more so because it pulled me in so much that I always had to take a step back. I work nights and during idle times, I would always grab my Kindle and do some reading. However, I wasn’t able to do that with Veiled. Go read if you would like to know why sudden knocks started to scare the living daylights out of me and why I had to ensure that the closet is tightly shut all the damn time.

Truthfully, this is only the second book I have read from Karina and I am not stopping here. Her writing is beautiful and though this book gave me the creeps, I had no urge to put it down. This is an addicting feast of creepy delight and both Ada and Jay are characters I would love to read about again. And again. And again.

“When you wake up from a nightmare, the reality comforts you. When you wake up from the best dream ever, reality is a burden, a slap-in-the-face reminder that you could feel this, you could have this, but you don’t and you won’t.”

I assume all Experiment in Terror fans have already fallen in love with these characters before but since I am just meeting them for the first time, I have to say that I am extremely pleased with how they seem to be formed. I can tell that a lot of time was spent in developing these characters, how they were born and given life from the author’s imagination. This book gave me the creeps – even during daytime. It’s worse than watching a horror film because I have to read very specific details, my mind brings them to life and my imagination gets the best of me. The terror this book gave me is haunting but I read and read and just couldn’t get enough of it.

“Fear gives people their humanity. Fear of loss. I fear nothing.”

Story wise – I have to say that I am pleased that though there was steam, chemistry and obvious attraction between the two characters – there was no need to max up the sex just to make the chemistry known. The beauty of the attraction between the two main characters is the sexual tension building up despite the horrors surrounding them.

I adore Ada. I do not now know how much exposure she had during the EIT series but this girl is on fire. She’s been through so much – emotionally and mentally – but you do not see her breaking down. She has moments of weakness but you do not see her whining and falling apart. She is dealing with the loss of her mother, doubting her sanity, fearing for her safety and accepting the abandonment of a friend but her game face is always on.  Her character amazed me. Her strength inspired me. Attagirl!

“I feel like each day is leading me down a dark path I might not be able to come back from.”

Then we have Jay. All you readers who love a good mysterious character will definitely love Jay. He is protective, honest to goodness swoon-worthy and a combination of good with a dark past.

Together, these two characters embark on a journey of nightmares, demons, evils and temptations. Through the darkness, they found light in each other. Through the storm, they found peace in one another.

“Sometimes the darkness is our friend.”

This paranormal is just perfection for new Halle readers such as myself. I am simply in awe at how this story wrapped up, how the nitty gritty of the story was told in a compelling fashion.

Superb writing. Gripping storyline. Interesting characters. All these plus all the spooks and thrills and you got yourself one irresistible read coming up.

Stars - 4

Review Headings -  BlurbDeath.
It’s something that Ada Palomino has always known so well, having grown up in a house of horrors, surrounded by a family plagued by ghosts and demons and things that go bump in the night.
But after the sudden and tragic death of her mother two years ago, death has never felt so personal.
Or so close.
Now eighteen, Ada is trying to move on with her life and the last month of summer holds nothing but sunshine and promises with her first year at a Portland design school just around the bend.
That is until her increasingly violent and realistic dreams, dreams of other worlds, of portals and veils where her mother is tortured and souls bleed for mercy, start to blend into reality. Ada has to lean on her older sister, Perry, to try and make sense of it all but even then, she’s never felt more alone.
Then there’s Jay. Tall, handsome and deeply mysterious, Jay would be just another stranger, a familiar face on the bus, if it wasn’t for the fact that Ada has met him before.
Every night.
In every single dream.
And the more that Ada is drawn to him in both worlds, the more she’s in danger of losing everything.
Including her heart.
And her very soul.

KNOW MORE ABOUT KARINA HALLE

STALK KARINA!!

Karina Halle

FACEBOOK | INSTAGRAM | TWITTER

GOODREADS LINK

AMAZON LINK

3 thoughts on “Veiled by Karina Halle

Leave a Reply

