The Pokémon Go Book Tag

pokemon-go

Ladies and gentlemen – the irony of this post and book tag is not lost on me. I am in the minority. Yes, I am not a Pokemon Go player though I got really fascinated with the game at first but it didn’t reel me in – which I think is good because I cannot afford so many addicting things and hobbies all at the same time.

Anyway, I would first like to give a shout out to Lara @ JukeJam for tagging me.  And also to Aentee @ Read at Midnight  who created the tag. Please do visit their lovely blogs.

pokemon-tag-01starters

1Here’s the thing, I have a pretty good memory for my triggers. Like what triggered my love or hate for this and that. For reading, I could easily point it out. It was SCAREDY-CAT ELIZABETH by FRANCINE PASCAL.

Quick history – I am from a family of readers – cousins, aunts, uncles and even my mom. During her pregnancy with me, she devoured book after book to pass time and when I was old enough to read (aside from the usual bedtime storybooks and children’s literature), she handed this book to me. It was in 1995, far from the social media and gadget age. She made me feel like being given a book is such a reward and that was how I felt from then on. Every time I would ace a test or bring home a medal, I knew I would have a book or a bundle of books waiting for me. And I’ve been a reader since then. Books and I have been lovers since I was seven. And we have never broken up.

pokemon-tag02pikachu

2.jpg

Confession time!!

To be completely honest, I have not read a lot of classics as much as I would have liked. But I keep on piling them up in my TBR list because who knows when I will be in the mood to read my next classic right? For this, my favorite would have to be THE COUNT OF MONTE CRISTO by ALEXANDRE DUMAS. It was lengthy so say the least but I love the balance of this story – it showed the human mold perfectly well; the goodness and the evil. The story can be a bit flavorful to some but I am always rooting for main characters who choose to fight back. Say what you want about my character but Dantes’ quest for revenge will always be my favorite classic story. For the time being, that is.

pokemon-tag-03-zubat

3To say that I lost interest is blasphemous. THIS IS HARRY POTTER!! However, I didn’t jump on it right away like all normal Potterheads. I’m still saving it for now.

Don’t hate or condemn, please read my explanation first.

I have loved Harry Potter since I was a kid. I loved the books, treasured them, re-read once or twice and sometimes still dreams of receiving an owl. But the thing is, I was completely satisfied with how the series ended. It was perfection. And though I suffered an extreme book hangover when I finished the last book in the series, I’m still not too excited to reopen the story. Case in point: I’m pretty happy with how things left off. I’m scared that it might not be what I expected, anxious because it was too hyped and fearful for another impending Potter hangover.

pokemon-tag-04-ditto

4 4-1

These two books remind me so much of each other. I would not dive into details for fear of spoiling the books but there has been a lot of similarities between the two; the premise, the conflict and the heroine drama (even the heroine nickname is pretty much the same).

pokemon-tag-05-snorlax

I don’t think I need to explain this one. Loved the show. Avoided the books. 

5

pokemon-tag06-gengar

It Ends With Us.jpg

It’s Colleen Hoover.

Enough said.

Check my It Ends With Us review too!

pokemon-tag07-nidokingqueen

There’s just so many and my top OTPs are too varied. 

Here’s a quick list:

Rhysand and Feyre from ACOTAR/ACOMAF, Sarah. J. Maas

Caleb and Olivia from the Love Me With Lies series, Tarryn Fisher

   whitebig
Alex and Aiden from the Covenant series,  Jennifer Armentrout

Will and Lake from Slammed, Colleen Hoover

pokemon-tag08-rapidash

One of the most recent fast paced read I’ve had is Blood to Dust by L.J. Shen. It’s a mafia contemporary romance with chapters and chapters of intense scenes and dialogue. 

Blood to Dust cover

pokemon-tag09-eevee

Review Headings -  Blurb

In the Company of Killers is a series about two rogue assassin brothers and a damaged girl with the blood of a killer who becomes the tie that binds the three. Together, along with a man whose torture and interrogation methods spread fear throughout their underground world of crime, they embark on the ultimate mission: take out the leader of the world’s oldest and largest assassination ring, and gain control of its operations—while at the same time fighting each other, and battling their own demons.

With a large cast of diverse characters there is no shortage of action, drama, whiplash-inducing twists and controversial themes. This series will push the boundaries of human nature as the group embark on a dangerous life together of crime, lust, deception, murder and love.

3333

pokemon-tag10-egg

I love her poetry, I love her magic.

Needless to say, I was really excited when her debut novel came out earlier this year.

Burning Muses by J.R. Rogue

Burning Muses2

pokemon-tag11-lure-module

My top auto-buys are COLLEEN HOOVER, TARRYN FISHER and ALESSANDRA TORRE.

cOLLEEN HOOVERtarrynalessandra torre 

pokemon-tag12-legendary

There’s just a lot and I always say that it makes me wary when a book is overhyped but on top of my list is SIX OF CROWS and the THRONE OF GLASS series.

pokemon-tag13-server-down

I’m dying to read the next Tarryn Fisher novel. She always has something new up her sleeve, does not create the same stories and never ceases to amaze. It’s always exciting to know what her crazy, twisted mind is plotting next. And I use the words crazy and twisted in the most positive sense. 

pokemon-tag14-magikarp

I haven’t picked up a fantasy in quite a while and I kept on seeing this series on feeds, on book recommendations that I had to see for myself. And boy oh boy, I became an instant SJ Maas fan. Gotta love me some #FeySand

77493_original otp1

pokemon-tag15mew-mewtwo

I’m not sure if it can be classified as a collector’s edition but since it will only be for a limited time, I wish I have the Mud Vein Anniversary Edition. I love the Philippines but it sucks not having a lot of the books I would love to have in our local bookstores. And shipping fee is crazy.  Just look at this beauty. *sigh*

fb_img_1463000073331_zpshigolfyf

Pokemon Go players and non-players such as myself, I TAG YOU!!!

(And to whoever you are also reading this, please feel free to do this tag as well.)

Jill @ Rant and Rave About Books

Cate or Abbie @ Midnight Biblio Blog

Jam @ Heartscent Reads

Elena @ The Queen Reads

Bea @ Confessions of a Pinay Bookaholic

Kat @ The Booklander

Sarah @ The YA Book Traveler

Bianca @ The Ultimate Fangirl

JM @ Book Freak Revelations

Imo @ Amidst the Pages

Amy @ Novel Gossip

Ava @ Bookishness and Tea

trish - signature

FACEBOOK | TWITTER | INSTAGRAM

6 thoughts on “The Pokémon Go Book Tag

  1. Thanks for the tag! I just added the In the Company of Killers series to my Goodreads. It sounds awesome! Totally agree with you on CoHo. Her new book was so amazing! Beautiful Disaster is one of my guilty pleasures. I love that book. And I love Jamie McGuire. I’ve read all of her books. And I’m starting to feel the same way about the new Harry Potter book. I had a Kindle copy pre-ordered and delivered on the release date, but I haven’t felt like reading it because of all the hype. It’s kind of killing it for me.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: The Versatile Blogger Award

Leave a Reply

