It Ends with Us by Colleen Hoover

“Maybe love isn’t something that comes full circle. It just ebbs and flows, in and out, just like the people in our lives.”

It Ends With Us

THIS BOOK IS EVERYTHING. EVERYTHING, I’M TELLING YOU. IF YOU’RE GOING TO START READING THIS, MAKE SURE YOU HAVE LOTS OF TIME AND CAFFEINE BECAUSE THERE’S NO STOPPING ONCE YOU HIT THAT VERY FIRST PAGE.

Colleen outdid herself!

Too much hype surrounding a release freaks me out. But this book is one I have been waiting for since it was announced and with all the buildup and excitement surrounding it, I decided to go in blind. And it was the best decision. The best.

I didn’t realize I was holding my breath until I finished. It’s been hours but I still needed to regroup. I’ve seen many people say that this is now their favorite CoHo book but NOT me. I can’t say that since every single CoHo book is special in their own ways. Every single thing she has written stayed and left fragments of lessons. But this one, THIS by far is her best writing to date. It’s so different from the CoHo we got used to. It’s a step outside the box, a step outside her comfort zone. I felt pain after pain, ache after ache just by reading her words. The message in this story is strong. Listen to it.

“There is no such thing as bad people. We’re all just people who sometimes do bad things.”

I’ve never been a Lily. I’ve never been a Ryle. And for that I am already thankful. I didn’t realize how lucky I was until now. Reading this story gave me a different kind of empathy and understanding to the Lilies and Jennies of society. I used to wonder why people inside an abusive cycle would stay. I thought it was a no brainer. I thought the way out was easy. And today, I will try to judge less and understand more.

“Fifteen seconds. That’s all it takes to completely change everything about a person. Fifteen seconds that we’ll never get back.”

Only Colleen can perfect writing a story that hurts and heals at the same time. It is thought provoking as it is beautiful. It is raw as it is painful. The reality that she showed us is harsh but it is happening – it is happening every single day. And we need to acknowledge it. We need to be brave and bold. The characters are real and broken and flawed. I will not change a single thing about them. It’s a reminder that abuse can take any shape or form. It will look you in the eye under the guise of a beautiful man/woman, donned in the finest of clothing and armed with all the admirable professional credentials and you might not know what hit you. Pun intended.

I devoured this book. I read everything from the very first word down to the author’s note (which by the way is as poignant as the story itself). This story speaks to your mind but reverberates to your soul. Though it is a hard story to read, I finished this in hours. You just can’t put it down. There are no gaps where you can let the story rest. It demands to be consumed and understood.

“I feel like everyone fakes who they really are, when deep down, we’re all equal amounts of screwed up. Some of us are just better at hiding it than others.”

This book is heavy on emotions and honesty. That it was written by Colleen Hoover made it an easy one click. But the power of this story is unlike any other. It is something that’s not often discussed or acknowledged. It’s a story, no matter how painful it is, that needs to be shared. And Colleen, you shared it so damn beautifully.You gave a voice to something that’s being forced quiet by others who chose to look away.

“But sometimes, the things that matter to you most are also the things that hurt you the most. And in order to get over the hurt, you have to sever all extensions that keep you tethered to that pain.”

This will change you. Whether you have experienced it yourself or know someone who did or even if you were just a bystander – it will change you and the way you think and feel. Read closely. And when you get to the part where Colleen dropped the title — you will know, you will understand why it’s perfection.

FIVE NAKED TRUTH STARS!!

5 star rating

Blog signature

 

 

 

Review Headings -  Blurb

Sometimes it is the one who loves you who hurts you the most.

Lily hasn’t always had it easy, but that’s never stopped her from working hard for the life she wants. She’s come a long way from the small town in Maine where she grew up—she graduated from college, moved to Boston, and started her own business. So when she feels a spark with a gorgeous neurosurgeon named Ryle Kincaid, everything in Lily’s life suddenly seems almost too good to be true.

Ryle is assertive, stubborn, maybe even a little arrogant. He’s also sensitive, brilliant, and has a total soft spot for Lily. And the way he looks in scrubs certainly doesn’t hurt. Lily can’t get him out of her head. But Ryle’s complete aversion to relationships is disturbing. Even as Lily finds herself becoming the exception to his “no dating” rule, she can’t help but wonder what made him that way in the first place.

As questions about her new relationship overwhelm her, so do thoughts of Atlas Corrigan—her first love and a link to the past she left behind. He was her kindred spirit, her protector. When Atlas suddenly reappears, everything Lily has built with Ryle is threatened.

cOLLEEN HOOVER

Follow Colleen Hoover on her official website

STALK AWAY: FACEBOOK | INSTAGRAM | TWITTER | WIKIPEDIA

GOODREADS

Amazon http://amzn.to/1OBfbMd
B&N: http://bit.ly/216Q1Wk
BAM: http://bit.ly/1oMClUj
Indiebound: http://bit.ly/1RDX2eB
iBooks: http://apple.co/1LSQnsC
Google Play: http://bit.ly/1pmLMKz

12 thoughts on “It Ends with Us by Colleen Hoover

      • Oh God, I am emotionally unprepared for this! I can already feel my heart going into overdrive. I can’t wait to read it either. 🙂 I was going to wait until next week after my birthday to buy it because I won’t be reading it until next month anyway but I’m seriously considering going online now and buying it.

        Liked by 1 person

        • I wanted to read it in paperback too but I just can’t wait that long! My patience is not that great anyways. I just got an ebook first. Consider it an early birthday gift for yourself. Oh man, I’m so excited for you to read it. I’ve been shoving it down people’s TBR Lists since it was announced. And Cate, if you need someone to vent out to when you’re reading it already — I’m here 😀😀😀😀

          Liked by 1 person

          • Oh, you’re getting me WAY too excited to read this!! Haha oh my god. Are you gonna still buy the paperback? I guess I could do that haha. Oh God okay I’m going to get it on my kindle. I think I’ll definitely need you. I already feel super emotional.

            Liked by 1 person

            • I may or may not be pressuring you a little bit to start early. LOL. Yes, I’m still going to get the paperback and do a re-read once I have it. Just set aside whatever expectations you might have. This is CoHo as we have never seen before 🙂

              Liked by 1 person

              • Haha. Well, I’m doing it cause I’ve already bought the book and started reading (and loving) it. Haha, I’ll probably end up doing the same if I love it. I actually haven’t read much Colleen Hoover bar the one on Wattpad. This’ll be my first of her published books. I don’t know why but I’m just really excited to read this particular one. Thanks for the heads up though 🙂

                Like

  1. Pingback: The Pokémon Go Book Tag – Heart via Pages

Leave a Reply

