Blood to Dust by L.J. Shen

“I LOVE YOU. All of you. Your perfect face. Your beautiful soul. Your ugly deeds.”

Blood to Dust

***ARC REVIEW

What a ride! What an exhilarating, thrilling ride!! It’s sexy but with a purpose. It’s dark but with a ray of hope. It’s twisted but it makes a whole lot of sense.

Honestly, I don’t want to use a lot of words. This book needs to be experienced and consumed. LJ Shen’s literary creativity continues to amaze me. I’ve loved Shen after reading Sparrow and from then on, I knew that I have found another author to support and follow AKA stalk and bother. This book is such a thrill and it’s a wonder how she was able to pack so much life in that number of pages. It has everything – darkness, pain, angst, steam (lots of it), wit, humor, redemption and a whole lot of sarcasm.

“Because that’s the thing about regrets. They’re mistakes that left scars. Vicious, sensitive, searing wounds.”

When I read Sparrow – I came to know Troy. I love Troy! Troy was a dick and you know that a writer is good when she can make you love the badassery in the protagonist. And despite Troy’s flaws and wicked charm, people loved him. Everyone wants a piece of him that it made me wonder how Shen can actually surpass that kind of male lead love. But she did. Damn it, she did! Nate Vela is a whole different persona. I swoon just saying his name. Seriously though, Nate Vela cannot be boxed in a description no matter how lengthy it is. He needs to be known and understood. You need to be able to peel off his layers and choose which side of him you love best.

“She’s aiming straight for my fucking heart, this chick. Shot after shot in the dark. And sooner or later, I know, even in the pitch black, she’s going to hit her target.”

Beat and Pea –

I was wary at first, thinking that with all of Prescott’s history and baggage, she might end up a sniveling, whiny female. But damn, Prescott really IS a storm. She’s all kinds of positive despite the cards she has been dealt with. And she made it till the end with a strong finish. I could feel myself cheering and rooting for her. And just like Sparrow, Prescott is the kind of female lead I always LOVE to read about. Nate, on the other hand, is a beautiful, complex mess who didn’t know that there’s more to life until he met Prescott. Both are broken. Both are flawed. Both are so wrapped up in the chaos that is their life that what they didn’t expect is to find peace, love and life in each other.

“Some people collect stamps. Some coins. Taxidermy. Fucking cards. I collect regrets. They don’t take up much space, not physically anyway. But inside, they occupy. They eat away. They ruin.”

The writing. The pace. The characters. The angst. The sexual tension. The banter. The high doses of sarcasm. Everything was done in equal proportions. The story just flowed and never have I felt like things were being rushed. How Shen laid down sex and violence beautifully stunned and truly impressed me. The story is fast paced and all consuming. This is not your cookie cutter mafia story. This is SO.MUCH.MORE! Yes, you will read about vengeance, but you will also know justice and strong will. And you will not lay to rest until these two characters I have loved so much finds their freedom and happiness.

Add this to your TBR now! This is a work of pure brilliance, it would be a shame to let this pass.

5 star rating

Blog signature

Review Headings -  Blurb

His name is Beat, and I should hate him.

Bound, blindfolded and bruised, I’m tied in his basement, waiting for the men who stripped me from clothes and humanity to collect his debt to them. Me.

His name is Nate and I should hate him, but I don’t.

I’m not supposed to know his real name, even worse, I’m not supposed to care. He is nothing to me but means to an end. The plan is simple: break free, collect the pieces of my broken soul, kill the bastards and run away.

His name is Nathaniel Thomas Vela, and I’ve never seen his face, though I hear that it’s beautiful.

Behind the rugged and handsome exterior, there’s a quiet murderer, a killer who thinks guns are for pussies and ends people with his bare hands.

His name doesn’t matter, neither does his face, but what does matter is my heart. And right now, sadly, it’s his.

LJ Shen

Find LJ SHEN on her official website

L.J. Shen is a best-selling author of Contemporary Romance and New Adult novels. She lives in Northern California with her husband, young son and chubby cat.

Before she’d settled down, L.J. (who thinks referring to herself in the third person is really silly, by the way) traveled all over the world, and collected friends from all across the globe. Friends who’d be happy to report that she is a rubbish companion, always forgets peoples’ birthdays and never sends Christmas cards.

She enjoys the simple things in life, like chocolate, wine, reading, HBO, spending time with her girlfriends and internet-stalking Chris Hemsworth. She reads between three to five books a week and firmly believes Crocs shoes and mullets should be outlawed.

You can stalk away: FACEBOOK | TWITTER | INSTAGRAM

GOODREADS

BLOOD to DUST RELEASE PARTY

5 thoughts on “Blood to Dust by L.J. Shen

  1. Pingback: The Pokémon Go Book Tag – Heart via Pages

Leave a Reply

