Dear Heart, I Hate You by J. Sterling

“It was heartbreaking when you recognized that moment when pieces of your reality turned into memories.”

DHIHY

Review Headings -  Blurb

I didn’t plan on him.
Or for him.
Or anything that had to do with Cal Donovan from Boston.
Meeting him had been a complete and utter surprise, taking me one hundred percent off guard. I met new people every single day in my line of work and none of them affected me. Wasn’t that the way of things though? You could meet a thousand people and they’d all mean nothing to you. But then you’d meet that one and they suddenly meant everything.

Review Headings - Thoughts and Feels

Instant connections are not really my thing. And if a story will play as such, I need a good storyline to back it up. I can always let insta-love pass if the plot is good enough for me. In this case, the honesty, the wooing, and the raw emotions won me over making me overlook the insta-love in the first place. I adore J. Sterling and while I loved some of her other books, this one was just okay for me. I liked it enough to finish it but I didn’t see myself fully invested in it.

Though I was able to imagine how the story would end, it’s always interesting how the characters would transition from Point A to Point B. There’s been an instant connection between Cal and Jules and I appreciated how they agreed to take things slow. Then came the wooing. Then came the challenge. In truth, I was actually swooning over the long distance pursuing and affection. I was smiling and feeling giggly myself. Unfortunately, good things don’t tend to stick for too long. Things went downhill and that was when my initial high opinion of Cal changed. For someone so smart and successful, Cal acted like a big idiot. His decisions came off as pretty immature and rash. Jules has been consistent from start to finish. She’s a character that I can actually like and tolerate but Cal on the other hand is a whole different story. He’s the kind of persona me and my girlfriends enjoy talking about. With beer in hand and sarcasm on the side.

“Nothing made you realize how much you’d been ignoring your heart, until someone came along and smacked it awake simply by existing.”

Yes, the story started strong for me despite the insta-love but my tolerance started to decline around halfway through it. I loved and adored some parts of it but felt completely annoyed at some. SPOILER ALERT: There is HEA but my issue is that the guy acted like an asshole and just wormed his way back to the game after a long period of unexplained absence. My nosey self loves being privy to both their thoughts but when their relationship went downhill, there’s been nothing from him. From there, it was all Jules’ POV of her hurt, her pain and emotional suffering. Nothing from Cal. Dead silence. Cue in crickets. And no, there’s no big plot twist waiting for you.

As much as I have loved other J. Sterling books before, this one is not really for me. I liked it enough to finish it but didn’t really fell in love with it. Writing wise, it has Sterling’s spunk and charisma written all over it. She was able to inject her own brand of humor and romance, the one we all came to love and enjoy. Who knows, it might be for you. Like what I said, the story started pretty strong and my issues only surfaced halfway through it. If insta-love, LDRs, independent protagonists and a tad of assholery is your thing, then this one’s for you.

3 star rating

Blog signature

J, Sterling

Find J. STERLING on her WEBSITE

You can stalk away: FACEBOOK | INSTAGRAM | TWITTER

AMAZON LINK

GOODREADS

Leave a Reply

