Smut by Karina Halle

“No gimmicks, just smut.”Smut

There are days when I would just like to open a book (or tap on my Kindle) and read to de-stress. These are the days when I would just like to enjoy and have fun with the story without analyzing too much or worrying about the safety of the characters I’m reading about. Smut definitely didn’t disappoint. I was presented with a fun, light and easy read and it’s something you would like to dive into after a long stressful day at work or if you would like a few hours of escape without the need to dissect overly complicated plots.

“My idea of romance is a guy who will take me to see an Avengers film and doesn’t mind dressing up like Loki afterwards.”

Review Headings - Thoughts and FeelsThe premise has been used and re-used. Boy and girl hates each other. Boy and girl thrown together. Boy and girl develops friendship. Boy and girl falls in love. This equation is something that most of us already read about but what drew me to this story is the writing. Another one to check off my list of new-to-me writers, Karina Halle wowed me with how flowy and engaging her writing is. Given, I have a number of her books piled on my TBR (which I need to read soon) and I don’t know why Smut is the first one I picked (most probably because it was just released recently duhhh) but I have zero regrets. I read, I conquered, I enjoyed.

 This story has a jumble of steam, clever banter and a lot of fun and comical moments at the most unexpected scenes. Just when I thought things are really getting steamy, something will happen which will catch me off guard but in a good, funny way. Undoubtedly, Karina can write a mean romantic comedy. It’s flawlessly done because she knows just how much sexual energy, heart and comedy she needs to insert at every single scene.

“I knew it. She’s a nerd on the streets and a freak in the sheets.”

Review Headings - Characters

 To be honest, the story started a bit slow for me and it took a while for the characters to grow on me BUT once they did, I found myself connecting to them and their thoughts, their goals and their personalities. Blake and Amanda are both likeable characters, Blake even more so than Amanda. Usually, I’m the reader who connects more with the heroine but in this story, I found myself particularly drawn to Blake. I found myself getting attached to his cocky yet funny demeanor and how nerdy he really is. On the other hand, Amanda is not your typical heroine. She’s strong willed, highly competitive and driven. Throw these two together plus the supporting characters and you get yourself a literary treat of love and laughter.

3 star rating

THREE – THREE POINT FIVE SMUTTY STARS

Blog signature

Review Headings -  Blurb

What happens when the kink between the pages leads to heat between the sheets?

All Blake Crawford wants is to pass his creative writing course, get his university degree, and take over his dad’s ailing family business. What Amanda Newland wants is to graduate at the top of her class, as well as finally finish her novel and prove to her family that writing is a respectful career.

What Blake and Amanda don’t want is to be paired up with each other for their final project, but that’s exactly what they both get when they’re forced to collaborate on a writing piece. Since Amanda thinks Blake is a pushy asshole (with a panty-melting smirk and British accent) and Blake thinks Amanda has a stick up her ass (though it’s a brilliant ass), they fight tooth and nail until they discover they write well together. They also may find each other really attractive, but that’s neither here nor there.

When their writing project turns out to be a success, the two of them decide to start up a secret partnership using a pen name, infiltrating the self-publishing market in the lucrative genre of erotica. Naturally, with so much heat and passion between the pages, it’s not long before their dirty words become a dirty reality. Sure, they still fight a lot, but at least there’s make-up sex now.

But even as they start to fall hard for each other, will their burgeoning relationship survive if their scandalous secret is exposed? Or are happily-ever-afters just a work of fiction?

KNOW MORE ABOUT KARINA HALLE

Get SMUT via AMAZON

STALK KARINA!! FACEBOOK | INSTAGRAM | TWITTER

Karina Halle

2 thoughts on “Smut by Karina Halle

  1. Pingback: SECOND QUARTER READING WRAP UP – Heart via Pages

Leave a Reply

