Desperately Seeking Epic by B.N. Toler

“Life’s too short to be subtle.”

Desperately Seeking Epic

This was recommended to me by one of my best friends and trusted book buddy that’s why I had to bump it up in my TBR and I made the right decision in doing so. I loved Bright Side, I liked A Thousand Boy Kisses. So it’s predictable that I will LOVE this too. I enjoyed every single tear I shed and I finished reading this a bit weepy, highly grateful and a teeny tiny sentimental. Stories like this may seem like a depressing read to some, but for me, they’re therapeutic and just the right wake-up call to be more appreciative of life in general.

Review Headings - Thoughts and Feels

This story doesn’t hide anything at all. Everything was laid out from the beginning so readers can actually figure out where the plot is headed. So it’s safe to say that this story is invested on the whole journey itself, how it changed and shaped the characters, how the different events hurt and ruined them and how they were able to survive and heal.

This story. It’s simply beautiful. I cannot think of any big words right now except that this story touched me, moved me and hurt and healed me all at once. It was told from the past and present, from Clara and Paul’s POV.

Review Headings - Characters

This is an easy 5star read for me because of how it made me feel. This is a story of bravery not only on Neena’s part but on each of the characters as well. The characters are well defined, each with their own motivations and goals. Whenever a character affects me and makes me think and feel, I know right away that the story resonates with me.

“Laughter is like the old grandmother in every family, it brings everyone together. Even people that hate each other.” 

Review Headings -  To Recommend

This is a highly emotional story. If you’re into this kind of premise, I suggest you add this to your TBR list. I know people who shy away from emotional reads and this one is just that. There were parts I found myself smiling and laughing but majority, I was all emotional. The ending was fairly predictable but it doesn’t make it hurt less.

“I need to let him go. But hearts don’t work like light switches; they don’t just flick on and off. They swell rapidly with love and bleed out slowly with pain.”

5 star rating

FIVE EPIC STARS

Blog signature

Review Headings -  Blurb

Paul James loved Clara Bateman.
Hating her would have been easier.
She was the past, and he was hell-bent on keeping her there.
Or so he thought…

Craigslist Ad: DESPERATELY SEEKING EPIC

You’re my father.
I don’t know much about you. I know your name is Paul James, you’re a thrill seeker, and once upon a time you did stunts and people called you ‘Epic.’
I’ve been told you don’t know about me. That it’s complicated.
But for me it’s simple.
Here’s the thing: I’m twelve years old…and I’m dying.
And as much as this could crush my mother, I have to meet you before I go.
In time, I’m sure she’ll understand. She’s still in love with you.
So, Epic, if you read this, please come back. You don’t have to be my dad. You don’t even have to tell me you love me or you’re sorry. Just come see me.

Patiently waiting, but running out of time,

Neena

One thought on “Desperately Seeking Epic by B.N. Toler

  1. Pingback: SECOND QUARTER READING WRAP UP – Heart via Pages

Leave a Reply

