Too Late by Colleen Hoover

“Love is not found. Love finds.”

Too Late

If you’re like me who knows the greatness that is Colleen Hoover, then you are also aware of her free story on Wattpad. I actually remember reading it on her blog first under a different title then feeling really itchy about the cliffy. (If you have been following my blog, you would know by now that I really get anxious over cliffies.) Anyway, unlike most CoHorts, I cannot bear waiting for Colleen to install chapter by chapter because I know that I couldn’t handle the suspense that way. So what I did was wait for the story to be completed before diving into it.

If you have followReview Headings - Thoughts and Feelsed Colleen since Slammed up to her latest release, November 9, you would see that Too Late is a different take altogether, a more matured and “darker” version of Colleen’s writing. It was different from her norm but it was a good different. It was fun different. Hell, Colleen has a natural gift, she was born to tell stories and I knew from the moment I declared myself a fan that I will be reading anything she writes.

Given, there were some errors but it wasn’t a make or break for me especially knowing the circumstances by which this story was finished. She was on a damn trip everyone and her creativity to weave a story even through a busy schedule is beyond me. Too Late is definitely fun yet tension-filled. I can imagine the anticipation of those who read this as Colleen published a chapter. That’s high anxiety and extreme tension we’re talking about.

“Worries flow from her lips like the random words that flow from her fingertips. I reach out and try to catch them, clenching then in my fists, wanting nothing more than to catch them all.”

Review Headings - Characters

[Edited since there has been an epilogue]

I originally said that the characters were fairly likable but I was not able to see much depth. Boy, did Colleen give me the depth I was looking for when she added the epilogue (which actually didn’t feel like an epilogue in length at all). How CoHo defines a character, how she inserts flaws yet make you like then love her people is beyond me. It’s the CoHo magic and everyone is drawn to it. She can make you like her characters one moment then have their murders plotted on the next. And though this is fairly short, she was able to establish and define them in as many chapters.

Review Headings -  To RecommendThis was really fun to read, fairly short and I found myself truly entertained. There were plot holes and parts with too much cheese and overdone romance BUT the story became more and more intense towards the end. Again, this story was given for free! I enjoyed the characters, I felt the thrill of the story and I appreciated Colleen’s usual engaging style. This is far from the normal CoHO feel but who needs normal?

4 star rating

FOUR “I SERIOUSLY NEED THAT EPILOGUE” STARS

Too Late3

Blog signature

Review Headings -  Blurb

Sloan will go through hell and back for her little brother. And she does, every single night.

Forced to remain in a relationship with the dangerous and corrupt Asa Jackson, Sloan will do whatever it takes to make sure her brother has what he needs.

Nothing will get in her way.

Nothing except Carter.

Sloan is the only good thing to ever happen to Asa. He knows this and he never plans on letting her go; even if she doesn’t approve of his lifestyle. But despite Sloan’s disapproval, Asa knows what it takes to get what he wants. He knows what he needs to do to remain on top.

Nothing will get in his way.

Nothing except Carter

Too Late2

( photo edits by the radness that is Kathy of The True Tales of a Neurotic SAHM )

3 thoughts on “Too Late by Colleen Hoover

  1. Pingback: SECOND QUARTER READING WRAP UP – Heart via Pages

Comments are closed.