Sparrow by L.J. Shen

“If you think you’re going to give me trouble, think again. I invented trouble. I stir it. I mix it. I fucking fix it.”

Review - Sparrow

So here is another “new to me author” who didn’t disappoint. In fact, this story even exceeded my expectations that I immediately jumped into L.J. Shen’s reader group right after finishing Sparrow. Where do I begin? This book has it all!

Humor? Check.

Romance? Check.

Bad Boy? Check.

Feisty female lead? Check.

Steam? Triple check!!

Review Headings - Thoughts and Feels

The first thing that popped into my mind a few chapters in was that “Damn! This woman CAN write!”. I was totally engrossed and captivated by this story. It’s fast paced and delivered punch after punch of high anxiety and exciting turns. If you were a fan of the TV show “Revenge”, you will be reminded a bit of Emily Thorne in this novel as Troy has his own revenge list and slowly crosses out names one by one. Basically, this story kept me entertained. Shen’s writing is flawless and engaging, that, I can assure you.

“She was a blank, clean, white sheet for me to scribble on. And I scribbled. On her lips, on her jaw, her neck and collarbone.”

Review Headings - Characters

I simply adore how Shen created the two characters, Troy and Sparrow, both highly imperfect, flawed, broken and unsure of how to love. I think that side of the story was what kept me glued to it the most. I am always looking forward to see how an author can turn animosity into something positive. I was highly entertained by how the two characters interact and though their love and admiration towards each other was not instant, it was exciting to see how their relationship will progress. They’re both broken and trying their damnedest to guard their hearts not knowing early on that what they needed was each other.

“Guilt was a thief. It would steal your mind, mess with your priorities and would eventually steer you from your original plan.”

Troy is the bad ass, anti-hero, alpha male. His bad assery has been revealed from the start and it was really interesting to see how his character developed. On the other hand, Sparrow is my kind of female lead – feisty, independent, strong and unshakable. Note to authors: Please stop creating whiny and dependent female leads. It’s a bad reflection on us women. I need more Sparrow. Enough said.

Review Headings -  To Recommend

I would totally recommend this book. It has a sprinkle of everything you might be looking for in a story. Though there were a parts when I felt that it was getting too descriptive, it still is something that I can confidently recommend. Another very minor issue for me is that there were scenes wherein I would have preferred a dialogue more instead of just going into details. But like I said, these are very minor details for me in comparison to the flawless writing, engaging storyline and well developed characters packed inside this story.

4 star rating

4.5 FLYING STARS!!

Blog signature

Review Headings -  Blurb

Troy Brennan

Every Southie in Boston knows that name. The son of a dead mobster. The heart-throb with steel-blue eyes. “The Fixer” who can make or break you in this city.

Oh, and my new husband.

Sparrow Raynes

That’s me. No one seemed to remember my name up until he barged into my life.
But then he caged me.
Kidnapped me.
And killed every chance I had to run away from the place where we grew up.
Put simply, Troy Brennan clipped my wings.

I have dreams, big ones, but I doubt he’ll ever let me chase them. I have no idea why he decided to take me as his wife. But I do know this: pissing off this man will not do me any good. At all.

Get the book via Amazon

FACEBOOK | TWITTER

2 thoughts on “Sparrow by L.J. Shen

  1. Pingback: FACEBOOK GIVEAWAY! – Heart via Pages

  2. Pingback: SECOND QUARTER READING WRAP UP – Heart via Pages

Leave a Reply

