Roots and Wings by M. Mabie

“He’d magically turned all of my rough edges to silk when he touched me.”

Review - Roots and Wings

Forget angst. Forget overly dramatic characters. Forget insta-love.

If you’re looking for something to make you feel good, then this book will truly deliver. I got Roots and Wings at the time that I needed to read something refreshing and relaxing and you just can’t and won’t put this down.

I am new to M. Mabie’s writing that I didn’t know what to expect. So writing wise, I was impressed and satisfied. Her words just flow systematically. There’s no confusion on the storyline. She knows what she’s trying to convey and she does just that. Her writing is flawless and direct. She knows how to extract feelings from her characters without rushing the story which for me, as a reader, is highly important.

“Sometimes when you meet people, you wonder: how are they going to change my life?

And sometimes when you meet the right person, all you can think is what a privilege it would be to change theirs.”

The best thing about this book is the normalcy. Mutt and Vaughn felt like ordinary, regular people that we come across with every day. Nothing is forced. The relationships felt real and authentic. Mutt is one of the best heroines I have read. When I was getting to know her character, I found myself saying, “That’s a character I want to read more about!”. In the book world filled with the pretty girls, the broken girls, the angsty girls – Mutt is a gem and I loved her all throughout the story.

The story was told in alternating POVs and I enjoyed taking a peek into Vaughn’s thoughts as well. Of course he is swoon worthy but for me, the best thing about him is his personality and life preferences. I won’t say more. I’ll give you, the reader, the chance to get to know him on your own time.

This book is light and fun and it washed off all the depressing, angsty feels from my past reads this week. I was amused, I was excited and I was happy. My basic emotions during this whole read all fall under the positive scale. The chemistry and slow building relationship are done to perfection.

This is something I can easily recommend to anyone – to teens, to moms, to adults, to people looking for something positive and fun to read. It just reels you in and will make sure you’re rooted to your seat until you’re done.

4 star rating

FOUR MUTT STARS!!

Blog signature2

Blurb via Goodreads:

Welcome to Wynne, population 3,401.

No billionaires. No professional athletes. No celebrities.

In this small town, current events are pondered in mirrors at the local salon or around crowded tables at the diner, and there’s a new couple to gossip about. A rough and tumble woman who works in her dad’s garage, not yet ready to spread her wings, shows the new guy in town what it’s like to finally have roots.

It’s your run-of-the-mill, sexy, Astro van driving dentist meets smart-ass, bass fishing tomboy in a story of real-life romance.

Low on drama. High on love.

Pull up a chair and stay a while.

** Roots and Wings is LIVE! **

Amazon US → http://amzn.to/1PAGekM
Amazon UK → http://bit.ly/rawamzuk
Amazon AU → http://bit.ly/rawamzau
Amazon CA → http://bit.ly/rawamzca
Goodreads → http://bit.ly/RaWGR

Know more about M.MABIE

TWITTER | FACEBOOK

3 thoughts on “Roots and Wings by M. Mabie

  1. Pingback: FIRST QUARTER READING WRAP UP – Heart via Pages

Leave a Reply

