Midnight Lily by Mia Sheridan

“There’s always someone society chooses not to see. There’s always someone who is invisible through no fault of their own.”

Midnight Lily


The blinking cursor has been mocking me. It’s true. I’ve been staring at a blank word document thinking of how best I can put what I felt about Midnight Lily into words. I feel that anything and everything I can say will come off as spoilerish so I will just leave you with how the story made me feel and how the characters made me think.

As a Mia Sheridan newbie (having read only 2 of her past novels), I cannot really say if this is on par with her previous works but my fresh eyes say that this is a haunting story that just took hold of me from page one and left me craving for more. Those last pages gripped me and I was actually scared for what was waiting for me in the end. The story in itself is beautifully woven and carefully thought off. It was actually a brave attempt because the premise she explored can be a hit or miss and she actually pulled it off and amazingly well if I may say so myself. It’s beautiful, consuming and flawlessly written.

“We will never be perfect or without flaws, the lives we’ve been given are not like that.”

Our two main characters, Holden and Lily are flawed and broken but I learned in mathematics that two negatives make a positive and these two are JUST THAT. Holden has been dealt with a bad hand and he has been struggling; struggling to live, struggling to survive. He was given a chance to turn his life around and at least have a semblance of order back. What he didn’t expect was to meet a girl during his isolation, a girl who left no mark, no footprints and comes when he least expects her. I actually felt goosebumps on the start of the story until I remembered reading this in the blurb:

THIS IS A STAND-ALONE SIGN OF LOVE NOVEL, INSPIRED BY VIRGO. Non-Paranormal, New Adult Contemporary Romance

Anyway, this girl that Holden meets unexpectedly is Lily. She was like a breath of simplicity and contentment and for the first time in a long time, Holden felt peace. Heck, even I felt peace. Lily has this calming nature that just soothes you.

“I’m not afraid of the darkness. I’ve been there before. I’ll step into it willingly, unhesitatingly, and I’ll come find you.

This novel was truly unexpected. It had me feeling sympathy, loss, hope, agony, despair then a tremendous amount of SHOCK and definitely a WTF moment at the very end. Just make sure to have your free time ahead of you because once you dive into this, you would not want to come back up unless you’re finished till the very last page. And when you get to that last page, you would just want to know more.

I admit I still have some questions but I know that things do not always come wrapped in a pretty bow. But if you’re looking for something that will show you that even the most tested and most unconventional love can stand a chance, then this one is for you.

“I only knew that when I was with her, the entire world felt different. It was like this forest was our own secret land, and here, we could be anything we wanted to be. Anything at all.”

You will ache, you will hurt but you will heal. You may be confused, but the confusion is what makes everything beautiful. This novel will show you that no matter how lost you are, you will still and is bound to be found. This is a story of love, a story of finding purpose, surviving despite odds and finding healing; despite the uncertainty, despite the chaos, despite the unconventional.

Once you decide to pick this up, read it to feel it, be one with the characters and experience the complexity and simplicity of this wonder called love. You, Mia Sheridan, just took occupancy in my heart and psyche. Thank You.


Blurb via Goodreads:

Holden Scott is the prince of professional football. At least he was before he lost it all . . . or more to the point, before he threw it all away. Now he’s out of a job, out of the public’s good graces, and perhaps just a little out of his mind. So when a friend offers up his remote lodge in the wilds of Colorado, giving Holden some time away to get his life back on track, he can hardly say no. The last thing he expects is to see a beautiful girl in the woods—one wearing a white, lace dress who appears in the moonlight, and leaves no footprints behind. Is she a dream? A ghost? A product of his muddled imagination? Or something entirely different? 

Midnight Lily is the haunting love story of two lost souls reaching for each other in the dark. A tale of healing, acceptance, and the worlds we create to protect our own hearts. It is a story of being lost, of being found, and of being in the place between.

Know more about MIA SHERIDAN

Add MIDNIGHT LILY to your GOODREADS TBR

Get the book NOW!

4 stars

One thought on “Midnight Lily by Mia Sheridan

  1. Pingback: FIRST QUARTER READING WRAP UP – Heart via Pages

Leave a Reply

