Leo by Mia Sheridan

“Everyone tells a story about who they are in their own head. That story defines you, dictating all your actions and all your mistakes. If your own story is filled with guilt and fear and self-hatred, life can look pretty miserable. But, if you’re very lucky, you might have a person who tells you a better story, one that takes up residence in your soul, speaking louder than the woeful tale of which you’ve convinced yourself. If you let it speak loudly within your heart, it becomes your passion and your purpose.”

Leo


A few chapters in and I already told myself that I have found another author I will be in love with. Mia Sheridan’s books have been in my TBR for far too long and with the upcoming release of Midnight Lily, I knew that this is the time to catch up.

It was only after finishing this book when I learned that this was the author’s debut novel. I honestly wouldn’t have guessed. The writing was flawless and direct, the characters were well defined and the storyline was on point. I knew right away that I will be binge reading this author for the next few days.

“Sticks and stones and fists CAN break your bones, but it’s the words that break your heart.”

Evie is a character that I instantly loved and might love for a long time. She’s somewhere there in my list with Kate from BrightSide. I’m really picky when it comes to characters that I will adore and Evie made my list. She is strong yet kind hearted, open minded and positive; a survivor and life lover. She is someone whom I just wish is real so that I can talk to her and just pick on her mind (and heart).

“I will prove to you that forever is not just a word, not just a measurement of unending time, but that forever is a place where I will treasure your heart.”

On the other hand, Leo is Leo.

Leo, Leo, Leo.

LEOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!

Let me just leave it at that.

“Looking at the past can be painful, but you can either run from it, numb it, or you can learn from it.”

There are flashbacks in between present day chapters and in the flashbacks, we see bits and pieces of Evie and Leo’s life from foster care, how they met, how their friendship tightened and the events which took place that changed their lives. I feel like everything I want to say is a spoiler so let me just leave it this way. The book is reasonably short, shorter than most novels and I’m actually impressed because Mia Sheridan just proved that a novel’s length is not really a gauge of how powerful a story can be. The storytelling is quite fast but not rushed; the details carefully explained but not to the point of being too descriptive. She was able to glide from one scene to another, slowing down on those important chapters. It seems like she knows which ones will be most impacting and focused on those parts of the story. Just one book and I can already tell that Mia is a gem. I can’t wait to read all of her babies and see more magic from her.


Blurb via Goodreads:

Evie and Leo met in foster care as children and formed a bond of friendship. As they grew, their bond turned to love, and they vowed to make a life together when they turned 18 and were no longer a part of the system.

When Leo unexpectedly gets adopted as a teen and moves to another city, he promises Evie that he will contact her as soon as he gets there and come back for her in a few short years. She never hears from him again.

Now eight years later, in spite of the odds, Evie has made a life for herself. She has a job. She has friends. She’s content. Then a man shows up out of the blue, claiming that her long lost love, Leo, sent him to check up on her. The attraction between them is undeniable. But, should she trust this sexy stranger? Or is he keeping a secret about what his connection to Leo is really all about and why Leo disappeared all those years ago?

Know more about MIA SHERIDAN

Add LEO to your GOODREADS TBR

Get the book NOW!

4 stars

One thought on “Leo by Mia Sheridan

  1. Pingback: FIRST QUARTER READING WRAP UP – Heart via Pages

Leave a Reply

