Thoughtless by S.C. Stephens

“He said I was his heart, and you don’t leave your heart behind. You can’t live without your heart.” 

Thoughtless


***UNPOPULAR OPINION

It was at 35% when I wanted to add this in my DNF pile but I was pulled back because I know many trusted readers who raved about this. But I will be among the minority who just didn’t feel the love for this one. I liked it just enough but not something for me to actually gush about.

Kiera just doesn’t work for me. She’s everything I do not like in a female lead. She is clingy, without a backbone and totally dependent. She doesn’t deserve Denny and she sure as hell doesn’t deserve Kellan. There were many parts of the book when I just want to go inside the story and choke some sense into her. She whines A LOT. She blushes at the simplest of things A LOT. I just didn’t connect with her.

“I want to be someone’s everything. I want fire and passion, and love that’s returned, equally. I want to be someone’s heart.” 

Now, let’s just talk about Kellan!! Yes, KELLLAAAAAAAAAAAAN!!! I know Kellan has captured a lot of readers’ hearts but I am still torn with how I feel for him. There were parts of the story wherein I felt for him and understood where he’s coming from with everything but his attraction to Kiera is what took my love for him down a lower notch to “like”. He is as real as can be. I liked him all throughout the story, even when he was being crass and rude to Kiera; even when he was in his manwhore episodes.

“It was heartfelt, it was heartbreaking. It was extreme joy, it was bone-crushing grief. It was fiery hot, it was icy-cold. It was true love sprouting… it was true love dying.” 

I understand early on that I am reading about a triangle but in most cases, I try to find a redeeming quality in the character/s but with Kiera, I was just dragged from one disappointment to another. I tried my damndest to put myself in her shoes, to understand why she did the things she did but it just doesn’t work.

This book is actually quite long and mind you, I really do not have any problems with reading a long book but I just felt that it was a messy story of one indecision after another. The same things keep happening over and over and over. I was mentally screaming for Kiera to make up her goddamn mind. She was a bad girlfriend, she was a lousy sister and she was not even the best daughter. She’s this lead who is so wrapped up in her own bubble, in her own needs and just blurts out what she wants to say without considering the feelings of the other people involved.

Boy oh boy! I usually want my lead characters to end up together but I was at 75% when I realize that I am not changing my stand, I still don’t want them for each other.

Characters and storyline aside, I felt that the writing was descriptive; at times, a little too much. Perhaps the author’s goal is to give the reader a sense of oneness with the character/s, a sense of belongingness and relatability to the story. I felt that she tried her best to create real and flawed characters that readers can understand and I highly appreciate that aspect in her writing.

“It was like we were both trying to hold onto something that was slipping through our fingers, and we didn’t understand why. I understood more than him, of course, but just barely. I would never fully understand how I could have ever strayed from such a warm, sensitive and caring soul.” 

All throughout reading it, I was giving it a 2 in my head but Kellan and Denny made up for it PLUS the fact that it annoyed me, YES but it didn’t bore me. Not at all. 0.5 stars for Kellan and Denny. Another 0.5 stars for all the emotions it brought out in me; annoyance, frustration and anger to name a few. It’s still a good book in my list since it was able to torment me, made me sick and angry.

But you know what, as much as this book tormented me, I will still go ahead and read the second one. Perhaps, I can learn to like Kiera in a less threatening premise. But not today. For now, I need to let all these emotions for Kiera simmer down before reading another one of her stories.


Blurb via Goodreads:

For almost two years now, Kiera’s boyfriend, Denny, has been everything she’s ever wanted: loving, tender and endlessly devoted to her. When they head off to a new city to start their lives together, Denny at his dream job and Kiera at a top-notch university, everything seems perfect. Then an unforeseen obligation forces the happy couple apart.

Feeling lonely, confused, and in need of comfort, Kiera turns to an unexpected source—a local rock star named Kellan Kyle. At first, he’s purely a friend that she can lean on, but as her loneliness grows, so does their relationship. And then one night everything changes… and none of them will ever be the same.

Know more about S.C. STEPHENS

Add THOUGHTLESS to your GOODREADS TBR

Get the book NOW!

3 stars

One thought on “Thoughtless by S.C. Stephens

  1. Pingback: FIRST QUARTER READING WRAP UP – Heart via Pages

Leave a Reply

