RoomHate by Penelope Ward

“Sometimes the thing we fear more than anything, is really what our soul craves the most.”

roomhate


A shared summer house and one hot dude should be enough recipe for a sizzling romance right? Not when it comes with a decade’s worth of baggage. Not when it comes with unresolved issues and most definitely not when it comes with a girlfriend in the mix.

The book itself is a quick read, nothing to slow you down and nothing to make you not want to finish it fast. It starts off with Amelia going back to a summer house she inherited from her grandmother. But the house is not hers alone. She inherited it along with her childhood friend, Justin, whom she hasn’t seen in years. The two share a history of childhood, friendship and bonding which was tainted when Amelia suddenly left when she was a teenager.

“The way I see it, if you want to cheat on someone, you should just break up with them. Cheating is for cowards.”

I like Amelia. She’s the kind of character who doesn’t make excuses for the unfavorable things that happened to her. She accepted things for what they were without putting the blame on anyone. I initially wanted to drown Justin in his coffee fusion but decided against it since he might very well be in heaven if I do that. Seriously, Justin was a jerk when the story opened (but it all has good reason, believe me) but as the story flows, we see the deeper and more lovable side to him. Needless to say, I love Justin.

“I never stopped loving you. There may have been times I tried to hate you, but even then, I never stopped loving you.”

This story has conflicts which can actually happen in real life. It triggers emotions and attachment to not just one of the characters. One of the best things a reader can experience in a book is to be able to feel one with the characters and I felt that. I felt the need to repair a damaged friendship, the battle between right and wrong, the fight to be independent and finally the surrender that our hearts can actually heal. I enjoyed the simplicity yet reality of this story. It was, in a way, predictable but I felt like the ending was not rushed. The characters were given enough time and space to learn, to heal and to forgive. The book started off the bat with lots of negative energy, bitterness and anger and we saw how they worked through their issues and came to terms with what they want and how they want to proceed in life and love.

“If you love someone, set them free. If they come back they’re yours; if they don’t they never were.”

This story is about friendship, second chances, love and life. It’s beautiful and heartwarming and will make you want to have your own beach house as you sip in your own mug of coffee fusion.


Blurb via Goodreads:

Sharing a summer house with a hot-as-hell roommate should be a dream come true, right? 

Not when it’s Justin…the only person I’d ever loved…who now hates me.

When my grandmother died and left me half of the house on Aquidneck Island, there was a catch: the other half would go to the boy she helped raise.

The same boy who turned into the teenager whose heart I broke years ago.

The same teenager who’s now a man with a hard body and a hardass personality to match.

I hadn’t seen him in years, and now we’re living together because neither one of us is willing to give up the house.

The worst part? He didn’t come alone.

I’d soon realize there’s a thin line between love and hate. I could see through that smug smile. Beneath it all…the boy is still there. So is our connection. 

The problem is…now that I can’t have Justin, I’ve never wanted him more.

Know more about PENELOPE WARD

Add ROOMHATE to your GOODREADS TBR

Get the book NOW!

4 stars

One thought on “RoomHate by Penelope Ward

  1. Pingback: FIRST QUARTER READING WRAP UP – Heart via Pages

Leave a Reply

