Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma

“At the end of the day it’s about how much you can bear, how much you can endure. Being together, we harm nobody; being apart, we extinguish ourselves.”

Forbidden


This book has been recommended to me years back but at the back of my mind, I made a firm decision not to dive into it. The premise is a very sensitive topic, taboo even. It’s not something that I felt I would appreciate and enjoy reading. With the hundreds of books lined up in my TBR, it was easy to lose this one. That was the case until recently, one of the reader groups I’m in *waves to R&R girls* decided to have a book discussion and this was the first one picked to be read and dissected. I was really torn. I LOVE book discussions BUT I was not sure if I’m up to reading it. On top of “peer pressure”, they got the author to join the said discussion and the girls in the group who have already read this were all excited and urging us to read as well so I thought that it was high time to put all reservations aside and just dive into it.

“At what point do you give up – decide enough is enough? There is only one answer really. Never.”

Forbidden is what it says it is, a forbidden story.

But it goes deeper than that. Like what I mentioned, the premise is taboo and honestly, I started reading it with a deep feeling of unease. But the way the author chose to weave her words turned my unease into quiet understanding. I do not have to agree with what the premise speaks of but my mind suddenly opened to the thought. My heart went out to the characters, my mind debated the situation with less judgment and bias and I found myself reflecting and questioning my moral compass.

“Out of the millions and millions of people that inhabit this planet, he is one of the tiny few I can never have.”

There were parts of the story when I was just cheering the main characters on; when I wanted them to JUST.DO.IT. To fight for their happiness, to just have their freedom to love. And just as easily as that thought comes in, guilt suddenly comes creeping in. I was torn all throughout and I found myself asking what it makes me then.

“There are no laws, no boundaries on feelings.We can love each other as much and as deeply as we want.No one, Maya, no one can ever take that away from us.”

Books like this are golden. Every once in a while, we really have to pick something that makes us uncomfortable to explore more, to expand what we already know, to have a deeper understanding, to be less judgmental and to know more about ourselves. I love books like this, books which are thought provoking and emotionally wrenching. I love books like this, books which poke on your stand, make you reevaluate what you believe in and books which just leave you thinking and awake long after you’ve read that very last line.


Blurb via Goodreads:

She is pretty and talented – sweet sixteen and never been kissed. He is seventeen; gorgeous and on the brink of a bright future. And now they have fallen in love. But… they are brother and sister.

Seventeen-year-old Lochan and sixteen-year-old Maya have always felt more like friends than siblings. Together they have stepped in for their alcoholic, wayward mother to take care of their three younger siblings. As defacto parents to the little ones, Lochan and Maya have had to grow up fast. And the stress of their lives—and the way they understand each other so completely—has also also brought them closer than two siblings would ordinarily be. So close, in fact, that they have fallen in love. Their clandestine romance quickly blooms into deep, desperate love. They know their relationship is wrong and cannot possibly continue. And yet, they cannot stop what feels so incredibly right. As the novel careens toward an explosive and shocking finale, only one thing is certain: a love this devastating has no happy ending.

Know more about TABITHA SUZUMA.

Add FORBIDDEN to your GOODREADS TBR

Get the book NOW!

One thought on “Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma

  1. Pingback: FIRST QUARTER READING WRAP UP – Heart via Pages

Leave a Reply

