The Score (Off-Campus #3) by Elle Kennedy

“I do what I want, when I want. And I don’t give a shit what people think about me.”

The Score


Blurbs via Goodreads:

He knows how to score, on and off the ice 

Allie Hayes is in crisis mode. With graduation looming, she still doesn’t have the first clue about what she’s going to do after college. To make matters worse, she’s nursing a broken heart thanks to the end of her longtime relationship. Wild rebound sex is definitely not the solution to her problems, but gorgeous hockey star Dean Di-Laurentis is impossible to resist. Just once, though, because even if her future is uncertain, it sure as heck won’t include the king of one-night stands. 

It’ll take more than flashy moves to win her over 

Dean always gets what he wants. Girls, grades, girls, recognition, girls…he’s a ladies man, all right, and he’s yet to meet a woman who’s immune to his charms. Until Allie. For one night, the feisty blonde rocked his entire world—and now she wants to be friends? Nope. It’s not over until he says it’s over. Dean is in full-on pursuit, but when life-rocking changes strike, he starts to wonder if maybe it’s time to stop focusing on scoring…and shoot for love.


What can I say? I’m whipped!! Elle got me laughing, crying and enjoying this simple luxury called reading. Here’s the thing about her writing; SHE IS DAMN CONSISTENT. She can create characters with such vivid imagery that you feel like you have seen them, been with them and have known them. I was a bit anxious for this novel because the standards have been set by the first two stories. I was wondering if this can live up to the hype and still have the Elle Kennedy stamp on it.

I read through “The Score” on a very hectic schedule juggling my Friday night workload to an early Saturday morning travel to a midday dental appointment. I JUST CANNOT PUT IT DOWN. The Deal has been about Garrett and Hannah and The Mistake about Logan and Grace. This time around, it’s about Dean and Allie. We remember Dean and Allie since the first book. We have glimpsed bits and pieces of them but not enough to build character and reader attachment. In all honesty, I never really thought much about Dean; he has manwhore written all over him. So what surprised me the most is that Dean may have turned out to be my favorite after all. He got me laughing so damn hard; from the bus ride on the way to my boyfriend’s dentist, at the dental clinic’s reception area and until I got home to finally finish it off. Dean is all sorts messed up and all sorts lovable.

“You know, I don’t think we’re dealing with a Bella’s-magical-blood situation here.”
“No?”
“No. I think you’ve imprinted on this girl’s pussy.”
… “What do you mean?”
“I mean you’re facing a Jacob quandary. You imprinted on her pussy, and now it’s the only pussy you can think about. You exist solely for thispussy. Like Jacob and that weird mutant baby.” 

The story started with an almost threesome. It’s Dean’s story, what do we expect right? As Dean continues with his manwhore ways, Allie, on the other hand is nursing a broken heart after having ended her longtime relationship with Sean. Two very different people with two very different views and opinions about love and life in general are thrown together without expecting that each one is the other half they didn’t know they were looking for. How they kept up with each other and how their love story blossomed is for you to read and find out.

The best thing about Elle’s character development is that she gives each of her characters depth and personality. On the outside, Dean is this vain, sex crazed college hockey player with no dreams and no direction. But HE IS MORE THAN THAT. The way his story opened and his character showed is one of the strengths of this novel. That and Allie’s family background, feisty, no-nonsense attitude kept me poring page after page. Plus the banter, the sexy comedy, the wit and humor. I just can’t get enough of Dean that I may have been a teeny bit pissed when it ended. Seriously, do yourself a favor and grab a page or two from “The Life of Dean”. NOW!

One thought on “The Score (Off-Campus #3) by Elle Kennedy

  1. Pingback: FIRST QUARTER READING WRAP UP – Heart via Pages

Leave a Reply

