Gus by Kim Holden

“You only get one chance at this circus called life. Don’t sit in the crowd watchin’ it happen. You jump right in and be the ringleader. That’s where you find your fire.”

Gus


Blurb via Goodreads:

The journey that began in top-rated, best-selling Bright Side, continues … 

This is the story of Gus. 
Losing himself. 
Finding himself. 
And healing along the way. 

“ … but the honest-to-God truth is I don’t even know how to function anymore. Bright Side wasn’t only my best friend; she was like my other half … the other half of my brain, the other half of my conscience, the other half of my sense of humor, the other half of my creativity, the other half of my heart. How do you go back to doing what you did before, when half of you is gone forever?”


If somebody told me months back that a scene with four grown men getting matching tattoos would make my heart swell and my eyes tear up; I would have laughed hysterically. It’s nothing out of the ordinary and it sounds outrageous to feel so much in a scenario like that. But you just wait and see. Kim Holden has perfected the art of gripping at your heart so tightly you feel like it’s going to burst at the same time making you feel all sorts of wonderful.

“There’s something epic that happens every day if you look hard enough for it.”

Reading Bright Side made me feel waves of emotions of varying degrees. In the end, I felt spent and broken. Kim said that reading Gus would heal me and it did. I am so grateful that she created a follow up story, this one focusing on Gus and his road to healing. Gus needed it. I needed it. I felt all the ways Gus was torn and I know in my heart of hearts that he deserves to have closure and healing and to feel whole again.

**Side note: I remember I was getting my nails done while reading Bright Side and I just started choking back sobs that the lady doing my nails had to stop because she thought that she was hurting me. I just told her to not mind me while I finish my book and she finished doing my nails with curiosity written all over her face.

Going back, I would love to describe Gus for everyone but doing so would lock him in a set of adjectives and it will not do him justice. GUS.IS.EPIC. I loved him instantly in Bright Side and I felt his despair and loss. I was with him as he fell down, as he drowned himself in misery while tuning everybody else out. Yet, I was also with him while he slowly picked up pieces of himself, turning his life around and finding meaning and inspiration once more.

“Some people wear their scars on the outside. Others wear them on the inside. Same difference. Your character, your heart, your essence, that’s what’s important, because that’s the real you. All the rest, our looks, the material stuff? It’s just meaningless bullshit.”

This novel is truly made to heal. I love seeing how Keller and Stella are doing. I adore Audrey even more. I feel protective of Scout and Pax. I love that this novel is a smorgasbord of different characters and personalities. It’s easy to read because the story just flows. Go ahead and grab this because this is EPIC and I’m sure once you’re done, you will never, NEVER look at sunsets the same way again. It’s Showtimeeeee!

 

One thought on “Gus by Kim Holden

  1. Pingback: FIRST QUARTER READING WRAP UP – Heart via Pages

Leave a Reply

