F*ck Love by Tarryn Fisher

“There is only WAR in LOVE. The constant fight to keep love relevant, while growing and changing as a human, is the battle. You fight for them, fight to keep them, fight to love them.”

Fuck Love reveal side solo


Blurb via Goodreads:

Helena Conway has fallen in love.
Unwillingly.
Unwittingly.

But not unprovoked. Kit Isley is everything she’s not—unstructured, untethered, and not even a little bit careful.
It could all be so beautiful…if he wasn’t dating her best friend. Helena must defy her heart, do the right thing, and think of others.
Until she doesn’t.


The best thing about Tarryn Fisher is that no one knows what to expect from her. She doesn’t hit “Publish” for the sake of just doing so but she does everything with purpose. Her words spoke to me, from Senna to Olivia to Leah to Caleb and up to Margo. She has used different voices, different stages in her life to reach out to her readers. Her words always made me think and reassess my feelings and thoughts. When someone who is halfway across the world can still leave you thinking long before you finished the book, then that author is someone special.

“We think we can control our lives but our lives control us. And everything that touches our lives control us. People have less power than they think they do. It’s just the reactions we control.”

F*ck Love is different than all her other books because through this, we saw a softer, sweeter side of Tarryn. Most probably, the “mildest” and “most tame” out of all her books, FL saw the growth and change in this author. The first chapter made me think that I was reading a Never, Never accompaniment novel but chapter two made sense of how the story started.

It basically is about Helena who had a dream that was so vivid that she set out to make this dream a reality. Said dream made her take a closer look at a person she was not that interested in before, Kit and reevaluate her relationship with boyfriend Neil and best friend Della. This dream triggered a hell of emotions and thoughts, a lot of inner conflict, moral battle and self-preservation.

“We were both on the search for something true at the same time. Sometimes, a person’s truth is another person’s love.”

I connected with Helena instantly and I’m not sure what that says about me but I do and I did. It’s like I’m seeing bits and pieces of myself in her. Hell, the characters all reminded me of certain people in my life. Even Della.

There were no big schemes, there were no big twists. I neither cried ugly tears nor released a big belly laugh BUT I FELT. I felt the characters’ individualities, eccentricities and how close to real life they really are. And maybe that’s why there are parts of the book where they are messy and hard to relate to. There were thought processes that I just have to go back to. Because they’re real. And real people are not always simple and easy to understand. More so, I felt the pain. I felt the conflict. And like all of TF’s other books, I felt the truth jumping out from her words.

“You don’t start searching for truth until something goes terribly wrong and you realize that you need it. There is no going back after that. The emotional concrete is poured. A foundation is laid.”

I love how I feel like this is a glimpse of who Tarryn is, the Harry Potter love, the messy bun and how Helena moved all the way to Port Townsend to try and find herself. As a reader, I think I needed to know more about Kit and his background because as much as I love his character, he just didn’t latch into me that deeply.

FL is a different side of Tarryn, perhaps a Tarryn we haven’t seen or experienced before. But I got what I came for. I was satisfied. It was the perfect read to start the year because her words just makes me challenge myself, makes me try to embrace the Helena in me but be more like Greer and say less Avada Kedavras in 2016.

“Let people feel the weight of who you really are and let them fucking deal with it.”

One thought on “F*ck Love by Tarryn Fisher

  1. Pingback: FIRST QUARTER READING WRAP UP – Heart via Pages

Leave a Reply

