Black Lies by Alessandra Torre

“True love makes a person reckless, makes them take risks and make sacrifices. True love tests the boundaries of our person, makes us yearn to be better and fight for the ground we stand on. I will fight for this love. Lie for it. Steal for it. It’s worthy of that.”

Black Lies

Review Headings - Thoughts and Feels

I have been in a book slump since reading one particular romance novel released during the early parts of November and I’ve been trying to find something to get me out of the funk, sorting my library until I found myself looking at my Alessandra Torre books. The truth is, I’ve had her novels in my reader for quite some time now, never getting around to reading one because of my unending TBR list. I thought to myself that now is the perfect time to start. I decided to go with a standalone first and chose Black Lies, only knowing that it is one of the most recommended among reader groups but without any idea what it is about.

I started the book and I knew from “PART1: This is a love story, but not one that is easy to read” that I will be hooked. And I was. And I still am.

“When you really love someone, you cannot walk away. No matter what they do. No matter the lies from their mouth, or the actions from their bodies, you tie yourself tightly to their sail and vow to be there through thick and thin. Let the wind blow you where it may. Even if that place is a crash. Even if that place tears you apart and kills anything good.”

I don’t know if I could find the right words to share the brilliance that is Black Lies. It’s one of those stories that is simply addictive and will not give you your mind’s peace until you finish the very last page. I thought that what I was reading was simply an adult rollercoaster ride type of relationship between Layana, Brant and Lee but I should’ve figured that it’s so much more. The truth is, the author didn’t really hide anything. Everything was out in the open and I had the urge to jump back and start from the beginning the moment I finished it.

Black Lies is not your ordinary love story. It’s powerful and consuming. It’s a story of lies, deceit and betrayal. It’s a story of love, loyalty and devotion.

“I don’t love you despite this. I love you, including this. Every part of you, even parts you don’t know.”

Review Headings - Characters

It revolves around three pivotal characters:

Layana Fairmont is the heiress who doesn’t want to be just the regular rich girl, aiming to be the latest trophy wife. With brains and confidence, she decides to live her own life and find her own fate. I initially loved her. Then I loathed her. Then she started doing unimaginable things, despicable things. I can only cringe at the things she has done. But after the reveal, I knew that I loved her and my heart went out to her. Her love is strong. Her loyalty is fierce.

Brant Sharp is the genius billionaire inventor who loves Lana and repeatedly asks her to be his wife. He is oozing with quiet confidence but has something hidden in his past.

Lee, on the other hand, is everything that Brant is not. Rough and manly, he is a landscaper whom Layana has been seeing on the side for 2 years. She did everything to keep him to herself and will not give him up.

She loves Brant. She loves Lee.

“True love tests the boundaries of our person, makes us yearn to be better and fight for the ground we stand on.”

Upon hitting the twist roughly around 67%, I had to take a moment’s pause to wrap my head around it. I was amazed at the simplicity of a seemingly complex plot. It was pure genius. I quickly went back to everything that happened before the twist and everything fell into place, it all made sense. It felt like I suddenly gained focus on what I am reading. The reveal made me understood Layana, made me turn from hating to loving her and scenarios suddenly clicked in my mind.

It is a love story so selfish that it’s selfless; so twisted that it totally makes sense. And if you will ever read this one, please keep an open mind and just enjoy the ride. This is my first ever Alessandra Torre read and I am POSITIVE that I’ll be reading more.

“Go ahead. Judge me. You have no idea what my love entails. I love two men. I fuck two men. If you think you’ve heard this story before, you haven’t”

5 star rating

Blog signature

Review Headings -  Blurb

Brant:
Became a tech billionaire by his twentieth birthday. Has been in a relationship with me for 3 years.
Has proposed 4 times. Been rejected 4 times.

Lee:
Cuts grass when he’s not banging housewives. Good with his hands, his mouth, and his cock. Has been pursued relentlessly by me for almost 2 years, whether he knows it or not.

Go ahead. Judge me. You have no idea what my love entails.

If you think you’ve heard this story before, trust me – you haven’t.

AUTHOR PROFILE

alessandra torre

Find Alessandra Torre on her OFFICIAL WEBSITE

Alessandra Torre is an award-winning New York Times bestselling author of thirteen novels. Her books focus on romance and suspense, all with a strong undercurrent of sexuality. Torre has been featured in such publications as Elle and Elle UK, co-hosted Dirty Sexy Funny with Jenny McCarthy, as well as guest blogged for the Huffington Post and RT Book Reviews. She is also the Bedroom Blogger for Cosmopolitan.com.

You can stalk away:

 FACEBOOK | TWITTER | INSTAGRAM | PINTEREST

Alessandra on AMAZON

Alessandra on WIKIPEDIA

Black Lies on GOODREADS

Amazon: http://goo.gl/ejqtSw
Nook: http://goo.gl/hoOxrg
iBooks: https://goo.gl/spTpvu

4 thoughts on “Black Lies by Alessandra Torre

  1. Pingback: TOP TEN THURSDAY – Heart via Pages

Leave a Reply

