Lux by Courtney Cole

“Warmth rushes through me because Kismet always prevails. The jury has decided. I feel it in my bones.” 

Lux

Blurb via Goodreads:

LET THERE BE LIGHT. 

My name is Calla Price and I’m broken. 

My pieces are all around me, floating on the wind, even as I desperately try to grasp them. 

Who is dead? Alive? Insane?

What is the truth?

I don’t know. 

I do know this: The darkness is strangling me. With every breath, I choke on another lie. 

My mind has protected me, but that shield will soon be lowered. 

All will be revealed. 
Every answer to every question. 

It’s all been leading to this. 

Don’t be afraid. 
Be terrified.


I am going crazy. Or maybe I have been crazy all along. I don’t know. I am not sure anymore. Even my sanity was tested and I was blown away.

After reading Lux, I lay in bed, awake, and sleep apparently avoiding me. My mind seemingly won’t shut down. And if a book can do that to you, then that is one heck of a bad ass book and an even bad ass author for being able to play with your mind as strongly as that.

“You aren’t understood, and I can’t explain it. That doesn’t mean you’re crazy.” 

Lux picked off from where Verum ended and it made me even more confused and unsure. Who is crazy? Who is alive? The Nocte trilogy ride was exhilarating, ominous, heart stopping, and utterly frustrating. I was desperate for answers and the waiting game left me anxious to know what happens. I was equal parts scared, excited and apprehensive. Nocte, Verum and Initium took a toll on me and I was looking forward to how it will be wrapped up. I was eager to know how the puzzle pieces will fall into place. I had such high expectations for the finale and Courtney did a superbly amazing job in ending it.

“It feels like everyone hides things from each other, but I don’t know what.”

I ended Verum grasping at straws and finished Initium even more confused than before. So it was no surprise when Lux opened with another mind-wrenching chapter. Lux includes scenes from Nocte and Verum BUT do not dare (pun intended) skip them. You might miss out on some things. I was reading blindly so to speak. I followed Calla’s thoughts and journey. I dove into her mind without a floater, and I had to be strong enough to endure just how powerful the pull is. I love the prose. I love the biblical references. I love the character buildup. I love Castor and Pollux (being that my zodiac sign is Gemini) I love being able to think, to question myself. I was given the chance to walk Calla’s shoes and I did so without a second though. It was a dizzying ride, yes. But it’s one that I don’t mind doing over again.

“You’re like Castor and Pollux. You love each other to a fault, and the universe will make everyone pay for it. You have to let the cycle end.”

There’s a lot of “did he or didn’t he?”, “did she or didn’t she”, “is it or isn’t it?” that you just can’t put this book down. Once you follow Calla, Finn and Dare’s journey, there is no going back. The questions “WHAT IS REAL?” and “WHO IS CRAZY?” hang as I developed theories, scratching some out, leaving some in until I want to scream in frustration. I was almost at the end and I was still lost! But when Courtney delivered that blow, BAM, my mind just exploded. This trilogy blew me away!

untitledCourtney is an amazing author and I have no idea how her mind forged this story and how she came up with all the things she did but I am one heck of a satisfied reader. Crazy, yes. But deliriously satisfied.

Nocteverum

initium Lux


Where the book took Trish: I was taken to a place where reality is crazy and the crazies are real. It took me someplace where the mind is the most powerful and anything is possible.

Leave a Reply

