Verum by Courtney Cole

“Something waits, something sleeps in the dark. I don’t know what it is. BUT IT KNOWS ME”

verum

Blurb via Goodreads:

The truth shall set you free.

My name is Calla Price and I’m drowning.

My new world is a dark, dark ocean and I’m being pulled under by secrets.

Can I trust anyone? I don’t know anymore.

The lies are spirals. They twist and turn, binding me with their thorns and serpentine tongues. And just when I think I have it figured out, everything is pulled out from under me.

I’m entangled in the darkness.

But the truth will set me free.

It’s just ahead of me, so close I can touch it. But even though it shines and glimmers, it has glistening fangs and I know it will shred me.

Are you scared?

I am.


AGAIN, WHAT THE HECK HAVE I JUST READ?!!!!!!!

And no, I will not dive into further details because I want you, yes YOU, to experience Calla’s mind on your own, without a preview to spoil the experience, but just a simple warning to be on your toes.

Verum picked up from where Nocte left off, answering questions which haunted readers on the first book but opening another set of mind gripping inquiries. This second book was told from Calla’s POV and it detailed her thoughts, her dreams and her fears. Verum also introduced us to some new characters and to a brief glimpse of the past.

“Run, little mouse. The hawk is coming, and you’re going to get eaten.”

Reading this felt like someone was blindly dragging me, pulling me into an endless abyss of dreams and fears, of crazy thoughts and memories. Most of the time, I was reading but not understanding at all. My mind was exhausted from coming up with all sorts of explanations, the next one crazier than the last. I was frustrated and excited. I was impatient but my heart was pounding so hard because I had no idea what was happening. I was taken into a swirl of mind games and I was trapped because I just cannot find my way out. I myself no longer knew who to trust and who is real or not.

“The end is the beginning. Don’t you understand?”

When I got to the twist, yessss that page wherein everything started to fall into place (or not? Because darn Courtney just can’t stop torturing the sanity left in me), that was when I realized that the slow buildup was necessary in order to deliver that mind blowing revelation. And if you think that Nocte was all shades of crazy, then you better do that mental yoga because Verum is all that and more! It took me days to actually wrap my head around what was revealed and to finally come up with a fairly decent review.

My mind is a hollow reed and the breeze is blowing through it, blowing all of the pieces away. I want to chase them, but I can’t.

I just have to say that the author’s writing style, as twisted as it may be, worked for me because I was able to take the trip as Calla. When Calla was confused, I myself was confused. When she felt fear, I was actually fearing for her sanity and mine. It was all about making the readers jump into her world (voluntarily and involuntarily) and Courtney Cole did that rather effectively.

The truth is, I cannot be sure anymore. I was hypnotized and my mind hurts so badly. Each answered question leads to more puzzling questions and it seems like there’s a never ending turn that will shock and amaze the hell out of my reading mind.

And I just have to let it out, “Dare is…..”


Where the book took Trish: This story took me to a place where reality is not reality at all, where the mind is most powerful and where answers become the next questions.

Leave a Reply

