Nocte by Courtney Cole

“There is nothing quite so terrifying as the descension of the human mind into insanity.”

Nocte

Blurb via Goodreads:

My name is Calla Price.

I’m eighteen years old, and I’m one half of a whole. My other half—my twin brother, my Finn—is crazy. I love him. More than life, more than anything. And even though I’m terrified he’ll suck me down with him, no one can save him but me. I’m doing all I can to stay afloat in a sea of insanity, but I’m drowning more and more each day.

So I reach out for a lifeline. Dare DuBray. He’s my savior and my anti-Christ. His arms are where I feel safe, where I’m afraid, where I belong, where I’m lost. He will heal me, break me, love me and hate me. He has the power to destroy me. Maybe that’s ok. Because I can’t seem to save Finn and love Dare without everyone getting hurt.

Why?

Because of a secret.

A secret I’m so busy trying to figure out, that I never see it coming. You won’t either


I finished reading Nocte at 2 in the morning and my mind suddenly jolted awake, thank you very much Courtney and Calla. Let me first share that I have learned about this trilogy from repeated recommendations in various reader groups, from people who have been reading as a hobby the same way that I do. I have been in a romance binge the past few days weeping my heart out for different forms of love lost and gained that I have decided to try something completely new. I went through this novel like crazy and man, I should have taken all the warnings seriously and should have done some mental yoga before jumping into it.

“Servabo me, servabo te. Save me and I will save you”

I dove into this book completely blind only armed with the Goodreads blurb I have read and countless warnings from other readers. I did not dare read any reviews for fear of stumbling into a spoiler. I was entranced starting from the cover, the Author Foreward page and I cannot help but devour the story with hunger. All along, I was thinking that I was reading a paranormal story but let me spoil this for everyone – this story is very real, a bit crazy but real to the core. The people are real, the places and events are real. It’s a contemporary love story which will make your head spin and your fingers tingling to turn that very next page.

“The only thing worse than drowning in grief is sharing a lifeboat with other drowning people.”

The story revolves around three main characters – Calla Price, her twin brother, Finn Price and Dare DuBray. If those names do not make you take a go at this book, I don’t know what will.

I am really trying to be careful in writing this review for fear of divulging something that might spoil the ending. So let me just advise my fellow readers to just take a leap of faith, grab this book and start it up. Once you turn that first page, I assure you that there is no going back. Your mind just won’t let you stop. Believe me. I’ve been there. You just cannot, CANNOT PUT THIS DOWN.

By night, I am free.
No one hears my monster but me.
My freedom is fragile, though,
Because every morning
The night is broken by the sun
It’s a good way to die.

The story will keep you on your toes, will make you think, will make you hazard countless guesses until you just give up and curse to the heavens why you cannot read any faster. The storytelling is brilliantly amazing, complex yet simple. Though there are parts which are a bit eerie, it will just leave your mind trying to solve a mysterious puzzle.

It’s one of those books where you just can’t help but be attached to the characters. Since I cannot say anything about the plot, let me just give you a teeny tiny background about the characters in play.

We have Calla Price, brave and fierce with a love so strong. Having recently dealt with the death of their mother, she is trying to handle everything all at once – a grieving father, a mental brother, her own grief and the mysterious and enthralling Dare DuBray who moved next door.

Calla’s twin, Finn Price, on the other hand is the smart, Latin-obsessed but mentally challenged young lad who goes to therapy to keep him in check, who writes his thoughts in his journal and who constantly battles and fends off voices in his head.

“Dare DuBray. He’s my savior and my anti-Christ. His arms are where I feel safe, where I’m afraid, where I belong, where I’m lost. He will heal me, break me, love me and hate me. He has the power to destroy me.”

And lastly, we have Adair DuBray , called Dare throughout the story who in my mental image is this swoon worthy next door neighbor. Mysterious and dark, he is also smart and witty , loving and dependable. And let’s not forget the bike, the artist skills and the piano skills. Dare is Dare and I want more of Dare!

“But just because we can’t see something doesn’t mean it’s not there.”

Nocte is a definite page-turning, mind-bending, soul-crashing piece of work that will make you crave for more. As the first book in a trilogy,the whole conflict in the story has been resolved but on the very last page is an even bigger question that will tease you and just make you dive into that second book. For late readers such as myself, I consider ourselves lucky because the second book is already available. I cannot imagine the agony in waiting for so long to see what happens next. This is my first ever Courtney Cole read and I am now a fan!

“Secrets. Everybody’s got ’em.”


Where the book took Trish: This story took me to a place where the real and the crazy co-exist, where love plays a huge hand in all of man’s decisions. It made my mind travel to a land less treaded on and the last few pages will just leave you gripping, screaming and wanting more.

One thought on “Nocte by Courtney Cole

  1. Pingback: TOP TEN THURSDAY – Heart via Pages

Leave a Reply

