Breakable by Tammara Webber

“Everyone isn’t logical. Everything doesn’t make sense in the end. Sometimes you have to forget about explanations or excuses and leave people and places behind, because otherwise they will drag you straight down.” 

Breakable

Blurb via Goodreads:

He was lost and alone. Then he found her.
And the future seemed more fragile than ever.

As a child, Landon Lucas Maxfield believed his life was perfect and looked forward to a future filled with promise — until tragedy tore his family apart and made him doubt everything he ever believed.

All he wanted was to leave the past behind. When he met Jacqueline Wallace, his desire to be everything she needed came so easy…

As easy as it could be for a man who learned that the soul is breakable and that everything you hoped for could be ripped away in a heartbeat.


I’m not usually a fan of retellings through another character’s POV. There are times whenI get bored since I feel like I’m getting the same story all over again. However, since I loved Lucas’ character from Easy, I decided to give it a try and boy oh boy, I’m glad I did! Reading “Breakable” honestly didn’t feel repetitive at all.

This story is not your ordinary male POV version of the book. It’s actually a blast from the past kind of read as it narrated how Landon became Lucas and the experiences which shattered, shaped and sewed him. We came to see how a happy little boy endured so much and how he almost drowned in misery, isolation and tragedy until Dr. Heller gave him a chance to start over and leave the past behind.

“I dreamed about the future because that’s what people persuade you to do when you’re a kid, but that’s the biggest lie of all–that you can plan. Reality is, you have no fucking clue what’s coming and neither do they.” 

I loved how I was able to piece bits and pieces of his childhood and getting a glimpse of the mysterious Lucas who before was a troubled, hardened boy. Easy showed that he has angst and that he was in pain but we never realized how scarred he really was. My heart literally hurt as I shared Landon’s emotions and as I witness him lose his childhood and innocence.

“Your scars are battle wounds, but you don’t see them that way.” 

For me, the best part of reading this is that I got to explore Lucas’ depth and a lot of open ended situations from Easy were answered in this story. I was able to see Jacqueline through his eyes and even though he was a bit of a stalker, his stalking didn’t seem creepy. Not at all. It was actually endearing how he watched and observed Jacqueline from afar, knowing how much he cared for her and when she stepped into his life, doubting if he was worthy of her. It’s nice being inside Lucas’ head because there are a lot of thoughts, anguish, self-doubt and arguments there. I especially loved the feeling of being able to peel Lucas’ layers one by one

“Some of us can begin to heal the damage people have done to us by escaping the situation, but some of us need more than that.”

While Easy made me see Jacqueline’s journey towards self-awareness, Breakable, on the other hand took me on a Landon/Lucas ride, allowing me to explore depths of his thoughts and emotions, vulnerabilities and insecurities, goals and ambitions. It was heartbreaking, yes, but it was also a story of healing and redemption.

Leave a Reply

