Fade To Red by Willow Aster

“If you won’t help me to remember, will you at least let me help you forget?”

Fade to Red

Review Headings -  Blurb

Dancing in pop superstar Beckham Woods’ entourage was the last thing Roxie wanted. Her life with little Leo was blissfully ordinary; she didn’t have time for the drama that stirring up old memories would surely cause.

But when Roxie took a spot on an international tour with Woods and rock icon Ian Sterling, the lure of financial security and her passion for dance pulled her into an emotional storm that threatened to spin out of control and hurt the ones she loved most.

Just as she began to adjust to her new life, it became apparent that danger was in the shadows, waiting for a chance to move…

***Fade to Red is a standalone novel featuring characters from True Love Story.***


“True Love Story” simply got to me and it made me hungry for more “Willow”. I dove into “Fade To Red” right after I finished TLS (again, thank you to Talon, a fellow PLN who gifted me with the copy) and I was simply blown away.

I was in a jumble of emotions right after I finished this and WILLOW, let me just say that you killed me with that ending!!!! I’m thinking that maybe I shouldn’t blog about this yet since I’m still emotionally unstable as of writing but I just can’t help it. I need to let this out.

I apologize, I tend to digress when excited.

As a reader, I was able to get bits of everything from this wonderful package; romance, friendship, humor, mystery and suspense (I kid you not, the latter part was truly suspenseful!). The story revolved around different POVs making it exciting and definitely a page turner.

First of all, I was ecstatic that Ian and Sparrow are back with their little Journey. Initially, I thought that they would just be thrown in a chapter or two (a promotional tease authors usually do with characters from previous novels just to keep the hype) but I was pleasantly surprised at how Ian and Sparrow were interwoven in this story. The Sterling family plays a major role in this novel and it is nice to see how everything worked out for them, and to see them interact as a family especially in times of crises really made me want to grab them all for a group hug!

“You know.. I recognize the fact that the fans are the ones who got me here, but yes, I do get sick of it. It isn’t that I’m not grateful. I am. It does get grueling though. I know it sounds cliche, but I’d rather just be about the music”

Roxie is a single parent whose main drive is to provide her little Leo with a good future. Originally wanting to be a dancer, her personal dreams were put on hold since she became a young mom. She is a character with spunk and I found myself liking her immediately! Sassy, headstrong and independent; she is definitely a lovable heroine.

On the other hand, Beckham is a popular musician who has been through a rough road himself. Having been sober for over a year, he was in need of a new dancer for his tour and was enamored by Roxie during her audition. He can be playful and flirty but this novel also showed a more serious and mature side of him.

“I have to believe I never really forgot and that’s why I haven’t been able to let you go”

Roxie and Beckham both had personal demons and issues that they needed to work out and face. I loved how they had to work for it, how they had to battle personal insecurities and pasts and how they just chose to fight for each other in the end. It was an exhausting and painful ride for these two and it’s a relief seeing them come out of it strong and full of love.

“Innocence lost was never pretty, though — no matter how many times the lesson had to be learned.”

This adrenaline-charged novel may have you falling in love with the characters but it will definitely keep you on edge as you will be guessing until the end. Everything just flowed naturally and I adored how Willow was able to target specific emotions with every scene. I supported Roxie, laughed at Beckham, hated Beckham, forgave Ian, loved Sparrow (all the more), cried for Roxie, seriously got annoyed at Beckham, became fearful for Roxie, cheered for Beckham, fangirled for the Ian-Beck friendship….. and you will have to read it to see what your last and final emotion will be.

Teaser: I came to a point where in I wanted to go all out Margo on one of the characters (If you know what I mean).

“I want to get under her skin and know what makes her angry heart tick”

Stars - 4

Leave a Reply

