True Love Story by Willow Aster

true-love-story_cover

Review Headings -  Blurb

Sparrow Fisher is transforming. No longer dressed up in antiquated clothes and ideals, she is finally trying on her freedom.

Before she moves to New York City, she meets Ian Sterling, a musician Sparrow has dreamed about since she first saw him. The attraction is instant, but their relationship isn’t so simple.

Over a five year span, Sparrow and Ian run into each other in unusual places. Each time, Sparrow has to decide if she can trust him, if he feels the same for her, and finally, if love is really enough.


I first came upon “True Love Story” when Tarryn Fisher added its first chapter in her “Dirty Red” novel. I was intrigued and curious however I totally spaced out after that, most probably because I had other books in my ‘To Read’ list that I completely forgot to pick it up. As they say, better late than never right? And it is my privilege and honor to say that my TLS copy came from Willow herself.

True Love.

Love Story.

True Story.

True Love Story.

Let me just say that this novel has one of the most believable relationships out of all the book relationships out there. This is my first ever Willow Aster read and I have to say that I was really anticipating how the whole story will play out and how this story will play my emotions out.

“It’s been a year, two months, and seventeen days since I last saw him. Two years, ten months, and five days since he broke my heart – well, since I knew that he had broken my heart. 

Technically, he began breaking my heart the moment I met him, five years, eleven months and one day ago.”

The story opens in present time with Sparrow Fisher seeing Ian Sterling in the airport after years of being apart. Throughout the dialogue, one can figure out that there is something intense and big between the two characters. After the first chapter, the story goes back to how they met, how they formed friendship, developed a non relationship into a relationship and how things spiraled downwards before the healing and forgiveness took place.

Sparrow is a ray of sunshine, pure, smart and loving. She is the good girl next door; the preacher’s daughter and like most girls her age, she is excited at the concept of moving away from home to go to college.

Ian on the other hand is years ahead of Sparrow, a professional musician who has a lot of baggage. His troubled past is mainly the reason why he turned up the way he did, chose the decisions that he made and stumbled upon mistake after mistake.

“I’ve been looking for you, his eyes are saying.
You’ve found me now, I’m certain my eyes are saying.”

They saw each other for the first time and there was instant connection; not the kind you can brush off once you are apart but the kind that lingers and haunts your very core. They cannot ignore the connection despite the age difference, time constraints and distance apart. Eventually, they found themselves working on overcoming every single barrier and agreed on terms to keep their relationship afloat. It was a beautiful ride for me as a reader, to be able to join Sparrow and Ian’s journey and see how they fought the struggles, how they braved the distance and how they made ends meet despite everything thrown at them. The emotions were real as I found myself smiling at their banter, feeling excited when they have their alone time and gushing whenever Ian does something special and touching for Sparrow.

At 75% of the book. I went from happy to sappy to enraged. I could totally step into the book and be the one to pull Ian’s hair out! I was THAT mad! But over the next few pages, I found myself feeling for him and in a way empathizing with why he made the mistakes he made, no matter how screwed up his reasons may be.

At 77%, my heart was breaking. I no longer knew if I was mourning for Ian, for Sparrow or for the two of them. My emotions were all over the place as I went from mad to sad that fast. I remember taking a full glass of water before I resumed my reading. I was that affected.

“I cry for everything that’s lost. I cry that he gave up. I cry for the anger in his words. I cry that he’s found someone that has made him consider letting me go. I cry for the day I ever met him and thought I could handle someone like him. I cry that the girl he met that day in the restaurant is long gone.
And I cry because I don’t know what to do with this person that’s left.”

The best thing about this novel is that I have seen how the characters grew, how they evolved and how they wised up from all the life lessons thrown at them. I was able to know Sparrow from her simple, idealistic roots to how she evolved into a strong and independent woman. It wasn’t easy but she was able to do it. On the other hand, there’s Ian who loved his career and women but somehow drowned into a sea of love, hurt and sadness. His tortured soul paved way for him to change his ways and for him to see what he has been missing all along. And if there is a specific takeaway that I will carry with me from this particular story, it’s that patience and love will always find its way.

And so, I will not tell you how the story plays out but I did get the ending that I wanted. Some says it’s too good to be true but I say that it can definitely happen because after all, it’s a story of True Love anyway.

”Love is enough.
Love does conquer all.
Love really does always protect, trust, hope, persevere…
I’d even go as far as saying that love never fails. I finally believe that.”
 

Stars - 4


Leave a Reply

