Dear Emily (Forever Family #1) by Trudy Stiles

“I’ll find my happily every after. It just isn’t now.”

Dear Emily

EPIC SINS ( check my review here ) was my first Trudy Stiles read and I immediately got the Forever Family series right after finishing it. However, my constant battle with my TBR list pushed this series back that I kind of forgot that I have it in the first place. Shameful, I know.

The other day, I was scrolling through my Kindle and lo and behold — I saw this series in my library, just sitting there and patiently waiting for me.

First of all, consider yourself warned.

The premise of this story revolves around heavy and intense scenarios – the subject matter overwhelming to read.

Dear Emily is so much more that what I’ve expected. And it’s so much more than the cookie cutter romance stories out there. This is real life, real people, real pain. I cannot stress out how much this book made me want to just hug both Carly and Tabitha until I snap out of it and realize that they are fictional characters.

This story is about two women who experienced great losses in life. Together, they embark on a rough road of pain, heartaches and survival. They have different backgrounds, histories and age bracket but one special thing brought the two women together. One special thing caused their paths and lives to cross.

The story was told in both Carly and Tabitha’s POV switching from past to present. One of the things I really enjoy about Trudy’s writing is that when she says that a character is at a certain age, you will really feel that the character is that age. I have read other books wherein the character was said to be at 17-18 but the dialogue and narration feels like that from an older person. I just enjoy how Trudy’s writing pulls you into the world she has created. Her ability to keep you invested in the story is effortless and beautiful.

My heart broke for these two women in various parts of the book. I am grateful because this story gave me a picture of what goes on in an adoption process, something that I really do not know much about. Along with the process, we were also given access to the minds and emotions of the people involved in such agreement.

The emotions invoked by this story are pure and real. These characters are broken. But it is their brokenness that I admire. That and their will to fight, to love and to survive.

I’ve read this book in one sitting and as of writing, I am now halfway through Book 2 – Dear Tabitha.

Be warned though, the ending of Dear Emily will leave you hanging. But the good news is that this trilogy is already complete so no more agonizing wait.

If you want to read a story that showcases the purest forms of love, desperation, loyalty, strength, friendship and drive – do yourself a favor and don’t be like me who waited forever to read this.

GO. GET. IT. NOW.Stars - 4

 

 

 

 

FACEBOOK | TWITTER | INSTAGRAM

Review Headings -  Blurb

Two women. Carly and Tabitha. They each have suffered life-altering events that have left them both traumatically damaged.

Carly Sloan’s life was perfect until her security and innocence was torn from her. The vast repercussions from these events threaten to destroy her stability and her chances for a happily ever after. Kyle Finnegan comes into Carly’s life at the height of her turmoil. Can he help her find what she desires most?

Tabitha Fletcher has constantly suffered from a very young age. She has been hiding from her past, which was full of sadness, loss and abuse. She has been so brutally damaged that she has very little hope for redemption. The revolving door of men only leads her deeper into misery.

What circumstance brings these two women together and can they help each other heal? And will they each find what they need?

Redemption.
Love.
Family.

Follow Trudy Stiles on her official website

STALK AWAY:

Trudy

INSTAGRAM | TWITTER

GOODREADS LINK

AMAZON LINK

Leave a comment